2019 Summit League Women’s Tennis Championship Seeds Announced

Denver secures its sixth-consecutive top seed entering the championship.
Denver secures its sixth-consecutive top seed entering the championship.

2019 #SummitTEN Championship Central
2019 #SummitWTEN Championship Bracket

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. –The Summit League officials announced the 2019 Summit League Women's Tennis Championship bracket on Friday, with Denver earning the No. 1 seed after clinching the Summit League regular season title.

This is the sixth-consecutive season that the Pioneers have won The Summit League regular season title and entered the championship as the top seed. Denver was the preseason favorite and finished the regular season undefeated for the sixth straight time.

To kick off the semifinals, it will be a rematch of the 2018 championship match as top-seeded Denver (15-5, 5-0) will match up against No. 4 South Dakota (7-11, 2-3) on Friday at 9 a.m. CT.

Taking the No. 2 spot is league newcomer North Dakota (12-10, 4-1) who will play the second semifinal match of the day against No. 3 Omaha (6-17, 2-3). The Fighting Hawks and the Mavericks will serve at 12 p.m. CT.

The 2019 Summit League Tennis Championships will be hosted Friday and Saturday at the Bernis Duke Tennis Center in Tulsa, Okla. This is the sixth time in league history that the Golden Eagles have hosted the tennis championships, the last being in 2010.

The April 27 championship match is set for 10 a.m. CT with the winner advancing to the NCAA tournament to represent The Summit League as the automatic qualifier.

Schedules and locations are subject to change in the case of inclement weather.

For all The Summit League Tennis Championship information, visit the official championship website at thesummitleague.org/championships and follow the championships Twitter feed @summitchamps.

Women's Semifinal | Friday, April 26
M1: (1) Denver vs. (4) South Dakota | 9 a.m. CT
M2: (2) North Dakota vs. (3) Omaha | 12 p.m. CT

Women's Championship | Saturday, April 27
M3: Winner M1 vs. Winner M2 | 10 a.m. CT

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


Ladhani honored by ITA
May 20, 2019 Ladhani honored by ITA