SDSU's Krsnak, NDSU's Wahlund Capture Initial Cross Country Awards

South Dakota State's Michael Krsnak and North Dakota State's Brecca Wahlund
South Dakota State's Michael Krsnak and North Dakota State's Brecca Wahlund

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State's Michael Krsnak and North Dakota State's Brecca Wahlund were named The Summit League's Cross Country Athletes of the Week for their performances Aug. 31-Sept. 3, marking the initial awards of the 2012 season.

Michael Krsnak, South Dakota State

Sr. // Rapid City, S.D.
Krsnak garners his second career Athlete of the Week honor and first of the season after winning the Bison Invitational and helping his team finish ahead of league opponent North Dakota State, who is ranked 14th in the Midwest region, one spot ahead of the Jackrabbits.  The senior finished with an 8k time of 26:09.54.

Also nominated: Taylor Crowell, Fort Wayne; Dirk Hudson, Kansas City; Grady Anderson, North Dakota State; George O'Connor, Oakland; Jeff Mettler, South Dakota.

Brecca Wahlund, North Dakota State

R-Fr. // Minot, N.D.
Wahlund earns her first career Athlete of the Week award after capturing first place in her first collegiate race and leading the Bison to an overall first-place team finish at the Bison Invitational.  The Minot, N.D., native finished the 5k race with a time of 18:14.47.

Also nominated: Julia Jeszenszky, Fort Wayne; Meg Doss, Kansas City; Brittni Hutton, Oakland; Amanda Vorthmann, Omaha; Katie Wetzstein, South Dakota; Tera Potts, South Dakota State.

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Omaha (University of  Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit to "See The Summit" or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.