Ayabei, Krsnak and Wahlund Capture Weekly Cross Country Awards

Kansas City's Cosmas Ayabei, South Dakota State's Michael Krsnak and North Dakota State's Brecca Wahlund

ELMHURST, Ill. – Kansas City's Cosmas Ayabei and South Dakota State's Michael Krsnak were named The Summit League's Male Cross Country Athletes of the Week, while North Dakota State's Brecca Wahlund was selected as the female Athlete of the Week for their performances Sept. 25-Oct.1.

Cosmas Ayabei, Kansas City

Sr. // El Doret, Kenya
Ayabei earns his third career Athlete of the Week honor and first of the season after clocking a league-best 8k time of 24:31 at the Notre Dame Invitational.  The senior finished second out of 143 runners and lead his team to a sixth-place overall finish.

Michael Krsnak, South Dakota State
Sr. // Rapid City, S.D.
Krsnak captures his third career Athlete of the Week honor and second of the season after posting a fifth-place finish at the Roy Griak Invitational amongst runners from a national ranked team and seven regional ranked opponents.  The senior recorded a personal-best 8k time of 24:48, the second-fastest league time this season and led the Jackrabbits, 12th in the Midwest, to a seventh-place finish ahead of regional ranked, Utah State (10th in the Mountain) and Central Michigan (11th in the Great Lakes).

Also nominated: Joey Zielinski, IUPUI; Brett Kelly, North Dakota State; Nathan Ziolko, Oakland; Jeff Mettler, South Dakota.

Previous winners: Sept. 4 – Michael Krsnak, SDSU; Sept. 11 – Trent Lusignan, SDSU; Sept. 18 – Jeff Mettler, USD.

Brecca Wahlund, North Dakota State

R-Fr. // Minot, N.D.
Wahlund garners her second career Athlete of the Week award and second of the season after recording a league-best 6k time of 21:26 at the Stanford Invitational, 23 seconds faster than the previous fastest time.  The Minot, N.D., native finished 16th out of 292 runners, which included competitors from one national ranked team and five regional ranked teams.  She led the Bison, ranked 12th in the Midwest, to a seventh-place finish out of 34 teams, ahead of three West regional ranked teams in UC Davis (6th), California (9th), Cal Poly (11th).

Also nominated: Rebecca Downs, IUPUI; Sara Meiners, Kansas City; Brittni Hutton, Oakland; Amanda Vorthmann, Omaha; Ali Gress, South Dakota; Tera Potts, South Dakota State.

Previous winners: Sept. 4 – Brecca Wahlund, NDSU; Sept. 11 – Brittni Hutton, OU; Sept. 18 – Brittni Hutton, OU & Amanda Vorthmann, UNO.

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Omaha (University of  Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit www.thesummitleague.org to "See The Summit" or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.