SDSU Men and NDSU Women Claim Cross Country Championship Titles

2012 Summit League Champions: South Dakota State's Michael Krsnak and Oakland's Brittni Hutton - Photo by Jose Juarez

2012 Summit League Cross Country Championships | Complete Results | Championship Photo Store

Rochester, Mich. – Both Summit League Cross Country preseason favorites, the South Dakota State men, No. 12 in the Midwest region, and the North Dakota State women, No. 9 in the Midwest region, captured the 2012 cross country championship titles at the Katke-Cousins Golf Course.  The Jackrabbits won their third title in four years, while the Bison claimed their second-straight crown.

SDSU's Michael Krsnak and Oakland's Brittni Hutton, each won their first individual Summit League crowns.

South Dakota State took first with 35 points as South Dakota finished second with 62 points.  IUPUI tallied 104 points for third place, while Oakland finished fourth with 111 points and Western Illinois took fifth with 119 points.  Rounding out the men's field were North Dakota State and Kansas City tied for sixth (128 points) and Fort Wayne (241 points).

On the women's side, North Dakota State captured the title with 36 points.  South Dakota finished second with 59 points and South Dakota State took third with 63 points.  Oakland tallied 117 points in fourth, while Omaha finished fifth with 157 points in its first league championship.  Fort Wayne (164 points), IUPUI (176 points), Western Illinois (196 points) and Kansas City (214 points) rounded out the women's field.

SDSU's Krsnak won his first individual league title with an 8k time of 25:06.4. South Dakota's Jeff Mettler finished runner-up in 25:10.6 and SDSU's Trent Lusignan rounded out the top-three finishers in 25:16.8.  Kansas City's Cosmas Ayabei (25:25.2) and Western Illinois' Michael Castel (25:25.6) each crossed the finish line first for their respective teams in fourth and fifth.  Rounding out the all-league first team were SDSU's Jared Ailts (25:30.3) in sixth and USD's Ethan Marquardt (25:49.1) in seventh.

Krsnak was named the men's Championship MVP, while South Dakota's Mubarik Musa earned Newcomer of the Championship with an eight-place finish in 25:58.8.  South Dakota State's Rod DeHaven was named men's Coach of the Year.

Hutton captured her first individual league title with a 6k time of 21:49.8.  North Dakota State's Brecca Wahlund took second in 21:58.5 and Omaha's Amanda Vorthmann finished third in 22:08.2, both crossing the finish line first for their respective teams. NDSU's Heidi Peterson (22:12.5) finished in fourth and South Dakota State's Erin Hargens (22:13.1) came in fifth. South Dakota's Megan Hilson (22:23.7) and NDSU's Maddie McClellan (22:29.1) rounded out the all-league first team in sixth and seventh.

Hutton was named the women's Championship MVP and South Dakota's Amber Eickhorn garnered Newcomer of the Championship, placing 11th in 22:51.0.  NDSU's Ryun Godfrey was named Coach of the Year for the second-straight year.

Men's All-League Team
First Team
Michael Krsnak, South Dakota State
Jeff Mettler, South Dakota
Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State
Cosmas Ayabei, Kansas City
Michael Castel, Western Illinois
Jared Ailts, South Dakota State
Ethan Marquardt, South Dakota

Second Team
Mubarik Musa, South Dakota
J.D. Smith, IUPUI
Joel Reichow, South Dakota State
Pat Cassady, Oakland
Sam Roudebush, IUPUI
Kolton Sheldon, Kansas City
Chase Marlow, Western Illinois

Championship MVP
Michael Krsnak, South Dakota State

Newcomer of Championship
Mubarik Musa, South Dakota

Coach of the Year
Rod DeHaven, South Dakota State

Women's All-League Team
First Team

Brittni Hutton, Oakland
Brecca Wahlund, North Dakota State
Amanda Vorthmann, Omaha
Heidi Peterson, North Dakota State
Erin Hargens, South Dakota State
Megan Hilson, South Dakota
Maddie McClellan, North Dakota State

Second Team
Abbi Aspengren, North Dakota State
Alycia Thurston, Western Illinois
Laura Wolles, South Dakota State
Amber Eickhorn, South Dakota
Katie Wetzstein, South Dakota
Tera Potts, South Dakota State
Ali Gress, South Dakota

Championship MVP
Brittni Hutton, Oakland

Newcomer of the Championship
Amber Eickhorn, South Dakota

Coach of the Year
Ryun Godfrey, North Dakota State