SDSU Men and NDSU Women Repeat as Summit League Cross Country Champions

2013 Summit League Champions: South Dakota State's Trent Lusignan and North Dakota State's Brecca Wahlund

2013 Summit League Cross Country Championships
Men's Results - Team / Individual | Women's Results - Team / Individual


The Basics
Team Champions: M – South Dakota State | W - North Dakota State
Individual Champions: M – Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State | W - Brecca Wahlund, North Dakota State
Location: Hefner Complex – Fort Wayne, Ind.

Fort Wayne, Ind. – Cross country preseason favorites and defending champions, the South Dakota State men, No. 11 in the Midwest Region, and the North Dakota State women, No. 14 in the Midwest Region, repeated as Summit League Champions at the 2013 Cross Country Championships at the Hefner Complex in Fort Wayne, Ind.

The Jackrabbits captured their second consecutive title and fourth in the last five years, while the Bison won their third-straight championship, tying the second-best streak of titles in league history.

SDSU's Trent Lusignan and North Dakota State's Brecca Wahlund, each collected their first individual Summit League crowns and the Men's and Women's Championship MVPs.

South Dakota State edged out South Dakota by one point, 41 to 42 for first-place team finish, tying second-smallest margin of victory in league history. IUPUI (51 points) came in third followed by North Dakota State (85 points), Western Illinois (130 points) and Fort Wayne (181 points). 

In the women's standings, North Dakota State tallied 25 points with South Dakota State (47 points) coming in second and South Dakota (66 points) in third.  Rounding out the field were IUPUI (84 points), Fort Wayne (123 points), Omaha (156 points) and Western Illinois (207 points).

Individually, Lusignan was the second-straight Jackrabbit to win the men's title, crossing the finish line with an 8k time of 24:49.42.  South Dakota's Mubarik Musa finished runner-up with a time of 24:57.41 and IUPUI's Joey Zielinski came in third at 24:59.45.

For the women, Wahlund captured the women's title in 21:24.22 to become the first Bison runner to win an individual crown.  South Dakota State's Cheyanne Bowers took second with a time of 21:34.38, marking the highest finish by a Jackrabbit at the league meet, and NDSU's Maddie McClellan was third with a time of 21:48.01.

South Dakota State's Brendan Sage was named the Men's Newcomer of the Championship with a 10th-place finish in 25:23.23 and the Jackrabbits' head coach Rod DeHaven was named the Men's Coach of the Year for the second-straight championship.

Fort Wayne's Brittany Beard earned the Women's Newcomer of the Championship, finishing 21st with a time of 22:47.55, while North Dakota State's Ryun Godfrey garnered his third consecutive Women's Coach of the Year honor.

News & Notes

  • The South Dakota State men's team won its second-straight league title and fourth in five years.  The Jackrabbits won the men's race with 41 points one point ahead of South Dakota, tying the second-smallest margin of victory in league history.
  • North Dakota State won its third consecutive league crown, tying the second-longest streak of consecutive league titles.  The Bison tallied 25 points to win, the fourth-best point total in Summit League Championships history and the best since Southern Utah won with 22 points in 2001.
  • South Dakota State's Trent Lusignan is the second-straight Jackrabbit to win the men's individual title, while North Dakota State's Brecca Wahlund became the first Bison to earn an individual crown.


Men's All-League Teams
First Team

Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State (24:49.42)
Mubarik Musa, South Dakota (24:57.41)
Joey Zielinski, IUPUI (24:59.45)
Taylor Chapman, South Dakota (25:00.48)
Joel Reichow, South Dakota State (25:06.23)
Sam Roudebush, IUPUI (25:10.99)
Brant Haase, South Dakota (25:14.15)

Second Team
Brett Kelly, North Dakota State (25:15.35)
Miguel Lozano, IUPUI (25:17.39)
Brendan Sage, South Dakota State (25:23.23)
Anthony Bongard, South Dakota State (25:27.70)
Jeff Mettler, South Dakota (25:31.61)
Ryan Cutter, IUPUI (25:35.52)
Drew Kraft, South Dakota State (25:36.35)

Championship MVP
Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State

Newcomer of Championship
Brendan Sage, South Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Rod DeHaven, South Dakota State

Women's All-League Teams
First Team

Brecca Wahlund, North Dakota State (21:24.22)
Cheyanne Bowers, South Dakota State (21:34.38)
Maddie McClellan, North Dakota State (21:48.01)
Megan Hilson, South Dakota (21:51.46)
Erin Teschuk, North Dakota State (21:53.30)
Jessica Eibs, South Dakota State (21:55.41)
Abbi Aspengren, North Dakota State (21:55.63)

Second Team
Katie Wetzstein, South Dakota (22:00.70)
Heidi Peterson, North Dakota State (22:13.76)
Rachel Zajac, IUPUI (22:15.68)
Jordan Hanaway, IUPUI (22:18.25)
Courtney Neubert, South Dakota State (22:23.41)
Laura Lawton, South Dakota State (22:26.28)
Jenna Grossenburg, South Dakota State (22:30.93)

Championship MVP
Brecca Wahlund, North Dakota State

Newcomer of the Championship
Brittany Beard, Fort Wayne

Coach of the Year
Ryun Godfrey, North Dakota State

Up Next
Seven league teams head to the NCAA Regionals on Friday, Nov. 15.  Fort Wayne and IUPUI will compete in the NCAA Great Lakes Regional in Madison, Wis., while North Dakota State, Omaha, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois will compete in the NCAA Midwest Regional in Ames, Iowa.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps