SDSU’s Donnay and Reichow Earn All-Region Honors

SDSU’s Donnay and Reichow Earn All-Region Honors

Midwest Regional Results | Great Lakes Regional Results

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State's Joel Reichow finished third, just 3.3 seconds off the winning time, to highlight The Summit League's NCAA Cross Country Regional results Friday. Reichow helped his team to a sixth-place finish, best of any Summit squad, at the Midwest Regional.

The runner-up at the 2016 Summit League Championships, Reichow ran a time of 30:21.8 to earn All-Region honors. Three Jackrabbit teammates, Ayub Kassim (26th at 30:55.6), Kyle Burdick (38th at 31:06.0) and Trevor Capra (39th at 31:06.4), finished in the top 50 to help SDSU to 154 points and sixth-place.

North Dakota State (19th) and South Dakota (26tH) recorded the next highest team finishes in the Midwest Regional.

On the women's side, SDSU's Emily Donnay finished 23rd with a time of 20:48.0 to claim All-Region accolades. Teammate Rachel King (26th at 20:49.2) and South Dakota's Julia Noah (34th at 21:06.8) also represented The Summit League in the top 50 finishers.

As a team, Summit League champion South Dakota recorded the highest finish, placing 11th with 347 points. South Dakota State (13th) and North Dakota State (18th) were among the top two-thirds of the 33-team field.

In the Great Lakes Regional, IUPUI's men led The Summit League contingent with an 11th-place finish and a team score of 347. League champion Robert Murphy led individually with a time of 30:47.3 while teammate Dakota Dubbs (41st at 31:33.6) also finished in the top 50.

IUPUI was the league's highest finisher in the women's race, placing 20th with a score of 540. Zoey Johnson paced the individual results with a time of 21:19.0 for 51st.

The NCAA Championships are set for Nov. 19 in Terre Haute, Ind.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at