Summit League Announces Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence

Summit League Announces Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence

Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence 

Past Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence Releases

ELMHURST, Ill. − The Summit League announced its 2016-17 Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence Wednesday, with a total of 635 student-athletes honored for their work in the classroom.

Denver captured the program's first Summit League Institutional Academic Achievement Award with the highest percentage of its list-eligible student-athletes recognized.

The Summit League also recognized Team Academic Achievement Awards in each sport based on percentage of list-eligible student-athletes on the Commissioner's List. Omaha had a league-best four teams claim individual sport honors, while former member IUPUI and South Dakota State had three each. A total of eight institutions captured at least one sport award. 

Baseball: Omaha
Men's Basketball: North Dakota State
Women's Basketball: South Dakota
Men's Cross Country: South Dakota State
Women's Cross Country: South Dakota State
Men's Golf: Fort Wayne
Women's Golf: Omaha
Men's Soccer: Denver
Women's Soccer: IUPUI
Softball: Omaha
Men's Swimming & Diving: Eastern Illinois
Women's Swimming & Diving: IUPUI
Men's Tennis: Denver
Women's Tennis: Omaha
Men's Track & Field: South Dakota
Women's Track & Field: South Dakota State
Volleyball: IUPUI

Omaha (women's golf) and IUPUI (volleyball) were the only two squads to land all of its eligible student-athletes on list. Of the 634 student-athletes honored, 132 earned all A's while 35 maintained perfect 4.00 cumulative grade-point averages (GPA).

In order for a student-athlete to be selected to the Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence, the student-athlete must carry a 3.50 or better cumulative GPA, used a year of eligibility and previously completed one academic year at the nominating institution. 

The complete list of 2016-17 Summit League Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence honorees can be found by clicking on the link above.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. The University of North Dakota will become an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 95 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.