North Dakota State Claims Second-Consecutive Commissioner’s Cup

North Dakota State Claims Second-Consecutive Commissioner’s Cup
ELMHURST, Ill. - North Dakota State captured the 2017-18 Summit League Commissioner's Cup Trophy, its third in program history and second-consecutive, with 77 points. North Dakota State placed first in the Dr. William Steinbrecher Men's All-Sports Award Standings, while South Dakota won the Dr. Helen Smiley Women's All-Sports Award Trophy.
South Dakota took second place overall just one point behind NDSU with 76 points, followed closely by South Dakota State in third with 73.0 points. Denver (62.5 points) edged out Oral Roberts (58.0 points) for fourth place, while Western Illinois placed sixth with 47.0 points. Omaha (44.5 points) and Fort Wayne (26.0 points) rounded out the standings.
The Bison claimed the top spot after capturing at least a share of all four track & field championships, the men's and women's golf titles and the softball championship. NDSU also placed second in men's and women's cross country and women's soccer.
Top-finishes in men's indoor and outdoor track & field, men's golf and men's cross country led the green and yellow to capture the men's trophy. The Bison claimed the program's first-ever men's golf championship at Sand Creek Station in the spring. Continued dominance in track and field brought the NDSU men their fourth-straight outright outdoor championship title.
The Coyotes placed second overall and won the women's trophy due to league titles in women's cross country, women's basketball and women's outdoor track & field, along with a second-place performance in women's indoor track & field. South Dakota claimed its first outdoor track & field crown when it collected 263 team points to tie North Dakota State for a shared championship title. 
The Commissioner's Cup is given annually to the member institution that collects the most combined points in relationship to placement in league-sponsored sports between its men's and women's athletic programs, while the All-Sports Awards are given to the institutions that accumulate the most points in men's sports and women's sports. The men's award is named for former Valparaiso Director of Athletics Dr. William Steinbrecher, who guided the Crusaders from 1979-2004, while the women's award is named for former Western Illinois Director of Athletics Dr. Helen Smiley, who headed WIU's athletic program from 1994-2001.
Standings for the 2017-18 Commissioner's Cup and the Dr. William Steinbrecher Men's All-Sports and Dr. Helen Smiley Women's All-Sports Awards can be found below. The breakdown of each institution's points and finishes within each sport can be found on the following page.
Commissioner's Cup Standings
1. North Dakota State 77.0
2. South Dakota 76.0
3. South Dakota State 73.0
4. Denver 62.5
5. Oral Roberts 58.0
6. Western Illinois 47.0
7. Omaha 44.5
8. Fort Wayne 26.0
Dr. William Steinbrecher 
Men's All-Sports Award Standings 
1. North Dakota State 30.5
2. South Dakota State 29.0
3. Denver 26.0
South Dakota 26.0
5. Oral Roberts 24.5
6. Western Illinois 18.0
7. Fort Wayne 14.0
8. Omaha 11.0
Dr. Helen Smiley Women's
All-Sports Award Standings 
1. South Dakota 50.0
2. North Dakota State 46.5
3. South Dakota State 44.0
4. Denver 36.5
5. Omaha 33.5
Oral Roberts 33.5
7. Western Illinois 29.0
8. Fort Wayne 12.0

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.orgwebsite, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.