Omaha Takes Home #SummitFoodFight Title

Omaha Takes Home #SummitFoodFight Title

ELMHURST, Ill. – Omaha captured its first Summit League "Food Fight" title by raising over 56,500 pounds of food, increasing its total from last year by over 55,000 pounds.

Omaha's final winning total of 56,583 pounds, the largest amount by an individual school in league history, was donated to the St. Vincent de Paul Food Pantry. This marks the first year Omaha has won the title. Summit League schools collected nearly 150,000 pounds of food, which were donated to each schools' respective local food bank.

South Dakota State, winners of the previous five crowns, finished second and collected 41,296.37 lbs., followed by South Dakota in third with 11,466.20 lbs. Denver and Oral Roberts also each raised over 11,000 lbs., for their local food pantries. Fort Wayne raised over 8,000 lbs., followed by North Dakota State with nearly 7,000 lbs., and Western Illinois with close to 2,000 lbs. Fort Wayne, Omaha and Oral Roberts each increased its totals from a year ago.

Each Summit League school had exactly one week for a designated fall contest and one winter/spring contest for a total of two collection weeks. Total amounts were calculated from non-perishable food, cash and online donations.

In the program's 10 years, over 728,700 lbs. of food has been collected for local Summit League communities.

"Food Fight" Champions
2009 – Oakland
2010 – South Dakota State
2011 – Oakland
2012 – Southern Utah
2013 – South Dakota State
2014 – South Dakota State
2015 – South Dakota State
2016 – South Dakota State 
2017 – South Dakota State
2018 - Omaha

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.