Summit League Adds Members to Team

Summit League Adds Members to Team

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League and Commissioner Tom Douple announced the hiring of Ryan Powell as the league's Assistant Commissioner for Communications and Juli Peterson as the league's Administrative Assistant Monday afternoon.

Both Powell and Peterson will start on August 1 when The Summit League headquarters makes its official move to Sioux Falls, S.D.   

Powell joins the league team following a nine-year stint in Grand Forks, N.D., as the associate director of athletic media relations at the University of North Dakota—now a member institution of The Summit League. With 16 years of professional experience in media relations at the NCAA Division I level serving as the primary communications contact for a multitude of sport programs, Powell will lead, manage and oversee the athletic communications, media and broadcasting endeavors at The Summit League.

"[Ryan] impressed us with his diverse experience at various campuses and a conference office," said Douple. "He is bringing perspectives and ideas from all levels of Division I competition, and we are excited to incorporate his expertise into the league's communications department."

In her new role, Peterson will provide administrative assistance to the commissioner and senior staff while also handling the day-to-day operations of the league office. No stranger to such responsibilities, Peterson most recently completed her 20th year of employment at Augustana University in Sioux Falls serving as an administrative assistant for athletics and exercise and sports science (ESS).

"I am very pleased [Juli] has agreed to join our staff," said Douple. "She brings a wealth of athletic experience that makes her an excellent fit for this position. She will do a fantastic job providing quality service to our membership and league."


THE SUMMIT LEAGUE has hired Ryan Powell (University of North Dakota) as its new Assistant Commissioner for Communications and Juli Peterson (Augustana University) as its new Administrative Assistant.

Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.orgwebsite, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.

2018-19 Basketball Media Day
October 19, 2018 2018-19 Basketball Media Day