15 Summit League Teams Recognized for Academic Performance

15 Summit League Teams Recognized for Academic Performance

NCAA Release

ELMHURST, Ill. – A total of 15 Summit League teams representing eight member institutions were bestowed with the NCAA Public Recognition Award, an honor given to teams whose most recent multi-year Academic Progress Rates (APR) are among the top 10 percent in each sport.

The APR is an annual scorecard of academic achievement calculated for all Division I sports teams nationally. This season’s awards are based on 2014-15 figures.

IUPUI led The Summit League with four awards, receiving honors in the sports of men’s golf, men’s track, women’s soccer and women’s volleyball. South Dakota State totaled three awards while Fort Wayne and South Dakota also received multiple honors with two each. Denver, North Dakota State, Omaha and Western Illinois also were represented with honored squads.

Institutions receive a congratulatory letter from the NCAA for their honored squad(s). The following teams were recognized for their 2013-14 figures:

IUPUI (4): Men’s Golf, Men’s Track, Women’s Soccer, Women’s Volleyball

South Dakota State (3): Baseball, Men’s Tennis, Women’s Tennis

Fort Wayne (2): Men’s Basketball, Women’s Golf

South Dakota (2): Men’s Cross Country, Men’s Golf

Denver (1): Women’s Golf

North Dakota State (1): Men’s Golf

Omaha (1): Women’s Tennis

Western Illinois (1): Women’s Golf

A record total of 1,071 NCAA Division I teams earned Public Recognition Awards this year for high achievement, including 649 women's teams and 422 men's or mixed squads. This year, schools combined the indoor and outdoor track and field teams into one team score, which slightly reduced the overall number of teams earning Public Recognition Awards.

All Division I teams’ APR scores will be released at a later date. All teams must meet a certain academic threshold to qualify for the postseason and can face penalties for continued low academic performance.

The APR measures eligibility, graduation and retention each term and provides a clear picture of the academic performance for each team in every sport.

The most recent APRs are multiyear rates based on scores from the 2011-2012, 2012-13, 2013-14 and 2014-15 academic years.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 75 Academic All-Americans, 65 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. In 2014-15, The Summit League ranked first for NCAA Graduation Success Rate in women's basketball and second in baseball. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.