Summit League Releases 2014 Baseball/Softball League Schedules

Summit League Releases 2014 Baseball/Softball League Schedules

Baseball League Schedule
Softball League Schedule

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League released its schedules of 2014 league contests for the spring sports of baseball and softball today.

The league portion of the baseball schedule begins March 28. The teams will play six games against league competition for a total of 24 games. The first three weekends will consist of doubleheaders while the four-game sets begin the weekend of April 18-20. Regular season champion Omaha begins its season on March 30, by hosting tournament champion South Dakota State. The two teams will also play a four-game series in Brookings May 2-4. The first rematch of last season’s tournament championship takes place with a doubleheader April 4 between North Dakota State and South Dakota State. The Bison and Jackrabbits are scheduled to play their four-game series in Fargo the last weekend of the regular season, May 15-17.

The league softball schedule is slated to start the weekend of March 21-22. Defending tournament champion Fort Wayne hosts South Dakota State in a three-game set. Regular season champion North Dakota State has a bye the first weekend and will travel to IUPUI March 28-29 for its first league contests of the year. A rematch of the 2013 Summit League Championship takes place between the Bison and Mastodons from April 18-19 in Fargo.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 122,000 at eight universities, three of which are located in top 59 metro populations. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Championships 62 All-Americans and 45 Academic All-America selections.