IUPUI's Segurola, WIU's Luke Capture Scholar-Athlete of the Year Honors

IUPUI's Jose Pablo Segurola & Western Illinois' Ashley Luke
IUPUI's Jose Pablo Segurola & Western Illinois' Ashley Luke

2014-15 Scholar-Athletes of the Year Release

Past Scholar-Athlete of the Year Releases

ELMHURST, Ill. − IUPUI men’s golfer Jose Pablo Segurola (Vitoria, Spain) and Western Illinois women’s basketball player Ashley Luke (Oak Creek, Wis.) have been selected as the 2014-15 Summit League Scholar-Athletes of the Year in a vote by the league’s faculty athletic representatives. The Summit League Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards are the most prestigious individual honors given by the league each season.

Segurola becomes IUPUI’s fourth Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year recipient and second golfer to capture the award (Justin Wenger, 2005-06). The senior earned Championship MVP and All-Tournament Team honors at the 2015 Summit League Men’s Golf Championship with his first-place performance. With the win, Segurola earned an automatic berth into the NCAA Regionals, the second time he participated in NCAA Regionals during his career (2012). He was a First Team All-Summit League selection in 2014 and finished his career with three individual tournament wins, including 10 in the top-10. He also ended his Jaguar career with a 75.42 stroke average, a low round of 65 and as the school’s all-time leader in rounds played (131).

In the classroom, Segurola was the Most Outstanding Senior in Mechanical Engineering for the Class of 2015. He graduated in May with a 3.86 grade-point average (GPA) and a degree in mechanical engineering from IUPUI. The last two years he has been voted to The Summit League Men’s Golf All-Academic Team and named a Summit League Academic Distinguished Scholar. Additionally, he has been a three-time Summit League Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence honoree, named to IUPUI’s Academic Advisor’s List 10 consecutive semesters and an Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society member. Segurola is active with the IUPUI Jags Reading Club and the on-campus Ronald McDonald House while volunteering with the Paws Pantry Food Bank and Riverside Golf Academy.

Luke, the Capital One Division I Women’s Basketball Academic All-America of the Year, becomes the third Western Illinois female student-athlete to be named the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Named The Summit League Player of the Year, she also earned her second-straight All-Summit League First Team selection to go with her second team and Newcomer of the Year honors during her freshman campaign. Luke posted 20 double-doubles in 2014-15 and ended the season second on WIU’s all-time record list for points (1,531) and rebounds (874). A 2014 Summit League All-Tournament Team selection, the junior earned five Player of the Week honors this season and has totaled 11 in her career. On the year, Luke averaged 19.7 points and 11.4 rebounds per game while shooting 50.8 percent from the field. She ended the season by leading the nation in offensive rebounds per game (5.0).

Academically, Luke graduated Summa Cum Laude in December with a perfect 4.00 GPA as a  double-major in political science and journalism. She currently has a 4.00 GPA in graduate school with a major in economics. The last two years, the Oak Creek, Wis., native has been named to The Summit League’s Academic All-League Team, Academic Distinguished Scholars list and the Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence. In addition to her Capital One Academic All-America of the Year honor this season, she was also named to the Capital One Academic All-America Third Team in 2013-14. Luke was Western Illinois’ recipient of the Lincoln Laureate Award, given to the top student at each state institution by the Lincoln Academy, last fall and earned the Provost Award of Excellence a year ago. Luke also participates in numerous extracurricular activities including volunteering for Adopt-a-Classroom, the McDonough County Animal Shelter, the McDonough District Hospital and Rocky’s Reach among others. She is Vice President of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and was recently elected President of WIU’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), along with being a Golden Key International Honor Society and Phi Eta Sigma member.

Also nominated for the Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year award: Greg Kaiser, Fort Wayne (baseball); Brett Kelly, North Dakota State (cross country/track & field); Cole Gruber, Omaha (baseball); Logan Domenico, Oral Roberts (baseball); Jeff O’Connell, South Dakota (track & field); J.D. Moore, South Dakota State (baseball); Yves Dietrich, Western Illinois (soccer).

Also nominated for the Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year award: Samantha Corea, Denver (swimming & diving); Brenna Sherwood, Fort Wayne (golf); Kaitlyn Hickey, IUPUI (volleyball); Maddie Van Beek, North Dakota State (cross country/track & field); Haley Shelton, Omaha (soccer); Kaily Cox, Oral Roberts (soccer); Allie Daly, South Dakota (softball); Mary Wirth, South Dakota State (track & field).

Past Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award Winners
1990-91 Tony Bennett, Green Bay
1991-92 Tony Bennett, Green Bay
1992-93 Marc Reidl, Valparaiso
  Lori Olson, Eastern Illinois
1993-94 Marc Reidl, Valparaiso
  Heidi Marshall, Cleveland State
1994-95 Jason Kayser, Kansas City
  Tricia Hardtke, Valparaiso
1995-96 Justin Weiss, Eastern Illinois
  Kim Givens, Youngstown State
1996-97 Anshooman Aga, Troy
  Laura Kulans, Valparaiso
1997-98 Bryce Drew, Valparaiso
  Adrienne Schultz, Western Illinois
1998-99 Jake Koller, Western Illinois
  Collette Liss, Valparaiso
  Juliana Moser, Oral Roberts
1999-2000 Myke Thom, Oakland
  Juliana Moser, Oral Roberts
2000-01 Ben Houltberg, Oral Roberts
  Sonya Ahmed, Kansas City
2001-02 Tim Weidner, Valparaiso
  Sonya Ahmed, Kansas City
2002-03 Ryan Rzepka, Oakland
  Tiffany Kyser, IUPUI
2003-04 Justin Langan, Western Illinois
  Anja Schmidt, Centenary
2004-05 Ryan Rzepka, Oakland
  Anja Schmidt, Centenary
  Candice Satow, Oral Roberts
2005-06 Justin Wenger, IUPUI
  Nicole Piggott, Oakland
2006-07 Brandon Fulenchek, Centenary
  Betsy Rietema, Valparaiso
2007-08 Brett Winkelman, North Dakota State
  Bess Rapp, Western Illinois
2008-09 Brett Winkelman, North Dakota State
  Jennifer Warkenthien, South Dakota State
2009-10 John Lee, South Dakota State
  Sharla Manuele, Southern Utah
2010-11 Perez Agaba, IUPUI
  Whitney Carlson, North Dakota State
2011-12 Perez Agaba, IUPUI
  Amy Anderson, North Dakota State
2012-13 Jeff Mettler, South Dakota
  Amanda Hyde, Fort Wayne
2013-14 Tim Colwell, North Dakota State
  Kyle Milberg, Denver
  Bethany Firsick, South Dakota