Summit League Announces Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence

Summit League Announces Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence

2015-16 Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence Release

Past Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence Releases

ELMHURST, Ill. − The Summit League announced its 2015-16 Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence Tuesday, with a total of 1,125 student-athletes honored for their work in the classroom.

Omaha captured its fourth consecutive Summit League Institutional Academic Achievement Award with the highest percentage of its list-eligible student-athletes recognized.

The Summit League also recognized Team Academic Achievement Awards in each sport based on percentage of list-eligible student-athletes on the Commissioner’s List. Omaha had a league-best eight teams claim individual sport honors, while South Dakota had six and Denver and Fort Wayne had four each. A total of seven institutions captured at least one sport award.

    Baseball: Omaha (65 percent)
    Men’s Basketball: Oral Roberts (71 percent)
    Women’s Basketball: Denver, Omaha & South Dakota (100 percent)
    Men’s Cross Country: Fort Wayne (83 percent)
    Women’s Cross Country: Fort Wayne & South Dakota (100 percent)
    Men’s Golf: Fort Wayne (78 percent)
    Women’s Golf: Denver, Oral Roberts, South Dakota & Western Illinois (100 percent)
    Men’s Soccer: Omaha (92 percent)
    Women’s Soccer: Fort Wayne (100 percent)
    Softball: Omaha (100 percent)
    Men’s Swimming & Diving: Denver (81 percent)
    Women’s Swimming & Diving: Omaha (96 percent)
    Men’s Tennis: Denver, IUPUI, Omaha & Oral Roberts (100 percent)
    Women’s Tennis: Omaha & South Dakota (100 percent)
    Men’s Track & Field: South Dakota (65 percent)
    Women’s Track & Field: South Dakota (94 percent)
    Volleyball: IUPUI, Omaha & Western Illinois (100 percent)

Of the 1,125 student-athletes honored, 74 earned all A’s while 31 maintained perfect 4.00 cumulative grade-point averages (GPA).

In order for a student-athlete to be selected to the Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence, the student-athlete must carry a 3.00 or better cumulative GPA, used a year of eligibility and previously completed one academic year at the nominating institution.
The complete list of 2015-16 Summit League Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence honorees can be found by clicking on the link above.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 75 Academic All-Americans, 65 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. In 2014-15, The Summit League ranked first for NCAA Graduation Success Rate in women’s basketball and second in baseball. For more information about the league and to “See The Summit”, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly “Inside The Summit League” show at