NDSU's McLean Voted to Google Cloud Academic All-America® First Team

NDSU's McLean Voted to Google Cloud Academic All-America® First Team

CoSIDA Academic All-America Baseball Release 

FARGO, N.D. – North Dakota State University's Jayse McLean was voted to the 2018 Google Cloud Academic All-America® Baseball First Team, which is selected by members of CoSIDA, it was announced on Thursday, June 7.

McLean becomes the ninth Academic All-America® honoree in program history and the first since Tim Colwell in 2014.

A redshirt junior outfielder, McLean graduated from North Dakota State with a perfect 4.00 grade-point average and a mechanical engineering major in May. He will attend graduate school at NDSU and play his final season with the Bison starting in the fall of 2018.

After sitting out the entire 2017 season with an injury, McLean played and started in all 50 of NDSU's games this season and was named Second Team All-Summit League after leading North Dakota State and tying for third in the league with seven home runs.

He also paced the Bison and ranked fourth in the league with 40 runs scored while posting a .250 batting average with 44 hits in 176 at bats. The Great Falls, Mont., native added six doubles and tied for the team lead with four triples while driving in 31 runs. McLean also tied for the team-high in walks with 31 free passes and led North Dakota State in stolen bases, swiping eight bases in eight attempts.

To be eligible for Academic All-America® consideration, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative G.P.A. of 3.30 on a scale of 4.00, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standings at his/her current institution and be nominated by her sports information director.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


ORU Takes Down Pac 12 Foe Utah
February 16, 2018 ORU Takes Down Pac 12 Foe Utah