Summit League "Countdown to Tip-Off" Begins Wednesday

Summit League "Countdown to Tip-Off" Begins Wednesday

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League begins its "Countdown to Tip-Off" Wednesday on website. Coverage will begin on media day, continue with team-by-team previews, and culminate with the season's initial weekly notebook on Nov. 8.

On Wednesday, The Summit League holds its annual coaches media day teleconference. This season, fans are encouraged to submit their questions via Twitter @summithoops using the hastag #summitbball. Select fan questions will be used during the media day event.

Media day coverage will include live Tweets and a recap of selected quotes for each of The Summit League's nine men's and women's coaches along with audio of the teleconference.

On Thursday, the preseason coverage shifts to the first in-depth team preview. All nine schools will have their men's and women's teams separately showcased weekdays from Oct. 25-Nov. 7. Women's previews are scheduled to appear in the morning with men's previews, which will include excerpts from the Blue Ribbon Yearbook's team scouting reports, available in the afternoon. Fans are encouraged to check back each day to see when their favorite team's preview will debut.

The "Countdown to Tip-Off" concludes on Thursday, Nov. 8 when the initial men's and women's weekly notebooks will debut. News and notes from the weekly media release will serve as an update to all the happenings associated with Summit League basketball.

Both the men's and women's seasons begin on Friday, Nov. 9.

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.