Wolters Named to Naismith Award Early Season Watch List

Wolters Named to Naismith Award Early Season Watch List

ATLANTA, Ga. - South Dakota State's Nate Wolters, The Summit League's Preseason Player of the Year, was named to the 2012-2013 Naismith early season watch list as announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

The 50-player watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012-2013 college basketball season. The Naismith Men's College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 7, 2013 in Atlanta.

"This is a terrific time of year, filled with hope and optimism among players, coaches and fans," said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. "We look forward to seeing all the student athletes display their talents on the court and showcase themselves as viable Naismith Trophy candidates."

"AT&T is proud to support the tradition of the Naismith Trophy and help recognize these student athletes for their hard work," said Jamie Kerr, Director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. "We wish each candidate the best of luck and every fan a memorable college basketball season."

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow the list to the four finalists.

Notable Naismith Men's College Player of the Year alumni include two three-time winners in Bill Walton and Ralph Sampson, Michael Jordan, Kevin Durant and last year's winner, Anthony Davis of Kentucky. The Naismith Men's College Player of the Year presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball's best player.

For more information, visit www.naismithawards.com.

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from nine member institutions: Fort Wayne, IUPUI, Kansas City, North Dakota State, Oakland, Omaha, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois. Known as the Mid-Continent Conference until 2007, The Summit League enjoyed unprecedented success during a 2011-12 campaign that included an all-time best final RPI ranking, the highest home attendance in league history, the most teams in postseason tournaments, a record total of all-district honorees and the NCAA scoring champion. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit www.thesummitleague.org and follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops.