Oakland’s Bader Named Player of the Week

Oakland’s Bader Named Player of the Week

Basketball eSource // @summithoops

ELMHURST, Ill. – Oakland's Travis Bader was named Summit League Men's Basketball Player of the Week for his performance Jan. 21-27.

Travis Bader, Oakland
Jr., G, Okemos, Mich.

Bader earned his second career award and first of the year after recording the NCAA's highest scoring game of the season and leading his team to a pair of victories. Against IUPUI, Bader scored an Oakland Division I record 47 points, the second-most ever in a Summit League contest. He drilled 11 three-pointers to tie The Summit League all-time record while shooting 61.1 percent (11 of 18) from beyond the arc. Bader shot 62.5 percent (15 of 24) overall and connected on all six free throw attempts against the Jaguars. Two days later versus Western Illinois, he put up 26 points on the nation's No. 4 scoring defense (51.5 ppg). Bader converted five three-pointers and 11-of-13 free throw attempts to key the Golden Grizzlies' victory over the league-leading Leathernecks. For the week, he averaged 36.5 points per game and shot 53.3 percent from three-point range and 89.5 percent from the free throw line. Bader leads the nation in three-pointers made and converted at least one three in 43 consecutive games for the NCAA's second-longest active streak.

Also nominated: Frank Gaines, Fort Wayne; Greg Rice, IUPUI; Justin Simmons, Omaha; Nate Wolters, South Dakota State; Remy Roberts-Burnett, Western Illinois.  

Previous honorees: Nov. 10  – Nate Wolters, South Dakota State; Nov.19  – Corey Petros, Oakland / Nate Wolters, South Dakota State; Nov. 26 – Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; Dec. 3 – Ceola Clark III, Western Illinois; Dec.10 – Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; Dec. 17 – Tony Fiegen, South Dakota State; Dec. 24 – Nate Wolters, South Dakota State; Dec. 31 – Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State; Jan. 7 – Duke Mondy, Oakland / Terell Parks, Western Illinois; Jan. 14 – Estan Tyler, Kansas City; Jan. 21 – Nate Wolters, South Dakota State.

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from nine member institutions: Fort Wayne, IUPUI, Kansas City, North Dakota State, Oakland, Omaha, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois. Known as the Mid-Continent Conference until 2007, The Summit League enjoyed unprecedented success during a 2011-12 campaign that included an all-time best final RPI ranking, the highest home attendance in league history, the most teams in postseason tournaments, a record total of all-district honorees and the NCAA scoring champion. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit www.thesummitleague.org and follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops.