Summit League Sends Four Men’s Teams to Postseason

Men's Semifinal Game 2: (2) Western Illinois vs. (3) North Dakota State - Photo by Inertia Sports Media
Men's Semifinal Game 2: (2) Western Illinois vs. (3) North Dakota State - Photo by Inertia Sports Media

NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament | College Basketball Invitational | Tournament

ELMHURST, Ill. – Four Summit League men's basketball teams will compete in three separate postseason tournaments this year. The 2012-13 campaign marks the second straight that at least four teams have reached the postseason.

South Dakota State (25-9), The Summit League's regular season and tournament champion, headlines the quartet. The Jackrabbits drew a No. 13 seed in the NCAA Tournament and will face No. 4 seed Michigan in second round play on Thursday night. Tipoff is scheduled for 7:15 p.m. ET on CBS.

Regular season co-champion Western Illinois (22-8) earned a postseason berth for the second consecutive season. The Fighting Leathernecks will play in the College Basketball Invitational and travel to Purdue for an opening round game Wednesday night.

North Dakota State (24-9), The Summit League Tournament runner-up, joins WIU in the CBI for the second straight year. The Bison, who also open play on Wednesday night, take to the road for a matchup against Western Michigan.

The sixth annual College Basketball Invitational features a best-of-three final on campus sites, April 1-5.

Oakland (16-16), will participate in the Postseason Tournament after earning a trip to the semifinal round a year ago. The Golden Grizzlies collected three CIT wins, marking the deepest postseason tournament run in Summit League history. Oakland, which travels to Youngstown State for a first round game on Tuesday night, owns the league's longest postseason streak, appearing in a tournament for the fourth consecutive season.

The fifth annual Postseason Tournament pairs teams throughout the event rather than using a traditional bracket.

Future league member Denver earned a berth in NIT and opens play at home against Ohio on Tuesday night.

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Omaha (University of  Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. The University of Denver is the newest member and will join the league on July 1, 2013. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit to "See The Summit" or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.