NABC Honors Three Summit Leaguers

NABC Honors Three Summit Leaguers

2012-13 NABC Division I All-District Selections

ELMHURST, Ill. – The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced its Division I All-District teams for 2012-13, recognizing the nation's best men's collegiate basketball student-athletes. Three Summit League players earned selections, including Oakland's Travis Bader and South Dakota State's Nate Wolters, who each garnered first team honors and Western Illinois' Terell Parks, who was a second team pick.

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across America. A total of 242 student-athletes, from 24 districts, are eligible for the NABC Coaches' Division I All-America teams.

Wolters earned his third consecutive All-District selection and his second-straight first team honor. The 2012-13 Summit League Player of the Year ranks fourth in the NCAA in scoring (22.3 ppg) and owns the nation's top individual game scoring total (53 points) this season.

Bader, who received his first NABC recognition, leads the NCAA in three-point field goals per game (4.21) and ranks fifth in scoring (22.1 ppg). He posted the NCAA's second-highest scoring game (47 points) and is tied for the national-lead for made three-pointers in a game (11) this season.

Parks, a first-time NABC honoree, ranks among the NCAA's top 25 in three categories – field goal percentage (21st at 56.9 percent), blocked shots per game (24th at 2.50) and rebounds per game (25th at 9.6).

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from nine member institutions: Fort Wayne, IUPUI, Kansas City, North Dakota State, Oakland, Omaha, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois. Known as the Mid-Continent Conference until 2007, The Summit League enjoyed unprecedented success during a 2011-12 campaign that included an all-time best final RPI ranking, the highest home attendance in league history, the most teams in postseason tournaments, a record total of all-district honorees and the NCAA scoring champion. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit and follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops.


Located in Kansas City, Mo., the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest "Phog" Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men's basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today's student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education. Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at