Summit League Basketball Media Day Teleconference Recap

Summit League Basketball Media Day Teleconference Recap

Teleconference Audio File

Preseason Poll/All-League Release: Men's | Women's 
Twitter: @summithoops
Men's Media Day Notes | Women's Media Day Notes

ELMHURST, Ill. - The Summit League held its annual basketball media day teleconference Wednesday with the men's and women's head coaches from all eight teams fielding questions from the media.

Each school had an approximate 15-minute time block in which both their men's and women's head coaches were made available. The order of the call was alphabetical (Denver, Fort Wayne, IUPUI, North Dakota State, Omaha, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois).

A Storify is below of select tweets from the teleconference.

The 2013-14 basketball season begins on Nov. 8 with Summit League play opening on Jan. 9 for both the men and women. The 2014 Summit League Basketball Championships will be held March 8-11 in Sioux Falls, S.D.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps