NDSU's Braun Named to Preseason All-America Team

NDSU's Braun Named to Preseason All-America Team

FARGO, N.D. (gobison.com) North Dakota State senior Taylor Braun has been named to the Lou Henson Preseason All-America Team as one of the top mid-major players in Division I college basketball, CollegeInsider.com announced Wednesday.

A Newberg, Ore., native, Braun led NDSU in scoring with an average of 15.4 points per game in the 2012-13 season. He also averaged 5.2 rebounds, 3.0 assists and 1.5 steals per contest while shooting 43.5 percent from three-point range. In 24 total games, Braun posted 21 double-digit scoring efforts.

Braun is a two-time All-Summit League selection, and is the only Summit League player named to the Lou Henson list. Saint Mary's Matthew Dellavedova was the recipient of the 2013 Lou Henson National Player of the Year award as the nation's top mid-major player.

The Summit League received the inaugural Lou Henson Award when Oakland's Keith Benson was honored following the 2009-10 season.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top mid-major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson, who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

2013 Lou Henson Preseason All-America Team

 Cameron Ayers                   6-5          Sr.         Bucknell

Travis Bader                         6-5          Sr.         Oakland

Jerrelle Benimon                6-8          Sr.         Towson

Sim Bhullar                            7-6          So.        New Mexico State

Taylor Braun                        6-7          Sr.         North Dakota State

Jason Brickman                   6-0          Sr.         LIU-Brooklyn

De'Mon Brooks                   6-7          Sr.         Davidson

Glenn Cosey                        6-0          Sr.         Eastern Kentucky

Johnny Dee                          6-0          Jr.         San Diego

Troy Huff                               6-5          Sr.         North Dakota

Anthony Ireland                 5-10       Sr.         Loyola Marymount

D.J. Irving                              6-0          Sr.         Boston University

Damion Lee                          6-6          Jr.         Drexel

Javon McCrea                      6-7          Sr.         Buffalo

Elfrid Payton                        6-3          Jr.         UL-Lafayette

Rian Pearson                        6-4          Sr.         Toledo

Kendrick Perry                    6-0          Sr.         Youngstown State

Augustine Rubit                  6-7          Sr.         South Alabama

Wesley Saunders               6-5          Jr.         Harvard

Bernard Thompson           6-3          Jr.         Florida Gulf Coast

Lucas Troutman                  6-10       Sr.         Elon

Demetrius Treadwell        6-7          Sr.         Akron

Jameel Warney                   6-8          So.        Stony Brook

Alan Williams                       6-7          Jr.         UC Santa Barbara

Pendarvis Williams            6-6          Sr.         Norfolk State