SDSU’s Dykstra, DU’s Udofia Named Senior CLASS Candidates

SDSU’s Dykstra, DU’s Udofia Named Senior CLASS Candidates

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State's Jordan Dykstra and Denver's Chris Udofia are part of 30 preseason candidates for the 2013-14 Men's Basketball Senior CLASS Award. The prestigious award honors senior student-athletes who have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

Dykstra, was a preseason All-Summit League first team selection and enters the 2013-14 campaign second among active NCAA Division I players with a .464 career three-point percentage. A two-time second team All-Summit League selection, Dykstra led South Dakota State with 7.9 rebounds per game a year ago. He earned Capital One Academic All-District honors and averaged 12.5 points per game during his junior season, which culminated in the Jackrabbits second consecutive Summit League Tournament Championship.

Udofia, a preseason All-Summit League first team selection, was voted to the All-WAC First Team and WAC All-Defensive Team last season, while leading the Pioneers to a 22-10 overall record and a share of the WAC regular season title, finishing 16-2 in conference play. He earned a spot on the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 6 First Team and helped lead the Pioneers to their first-ever win in a national postseason tournament as a No. 3 seed in the NIT. Udofia was voted Sun Belt Conference Defensive Player of the Year and earned a spot on the All-Sun Belt Conference first team as a sophomore.

Of the 60 candidates, 20 have grade point averages of 3.5 or higher. There are eight CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans® and seven returning All-Americans. Twenty-four of the 32 NCAA Division I basketball-playing conferences are represented as well.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Men's Final Four® and NCAA Women's Final Four®.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. For more information on all the candidates, visit

2013-14 Senior CLASS Award Men's Basketball Candidates

Travis Bader, Oakland

Jerrelle Benimon, Towson

Kyle Boswell, UC Santa Barbara

Allan Chaney, High Point

Aaron Craft, Ohio State

Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State

Melvin Ejim, Iowa State

Dwayne Evans, Saint Louis

Chris Eversley, Cal Poly

C.J. Fair, Syracuse

Tim Frazier, Penn State

Jakob Gollon, Mercer

Joe Harris, Virginia

Holton Hunsaker, Utah Valley

Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount

Joe Jackson, Memphis

Walt Lemon Jr., Bradley

J.J. Mann, Belmont

Doug McDermott, Creighton

Sean McGonagill, Brown

Travis McKie, Wake Forest

Jordan McRae, Tennessee

Shabazz Napier, Connecticut

Dennis Ogbe, Tennessee Tech

Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State

Dwight Powell, Stanford

Augustine Rubit, South Alabama

Russ Smith, Louisville

Chris Udofia, Denver

Patric Young, Florida

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from eight member institutions: Denver, Fort Wayne, IUPUI, North Dakota State, Omaha, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois. Known as the Mid-Continent Conference until 2007, The Summit League has enjoyed unprecedented success in recent seasons including new tournament and regular season attendance standards, record postseason tournament participation, all-time best RPI rankings, national player honors and NCAA statistical champions. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit and follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops.