SDSU’s Dykstra Named Player of the Week

SDSU’s Dykstra Named Player of the Week

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State's Jordan Dykstra was named as The Summit League's Men's Basketball Player of the Week following his performance Jan. 27-Feb. 2.

Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State
Sr. // F // Rock Valley, Iowa
Dykstra garnered his second career and season honor, after leading South Dakota State to a pair of road victories. At Denver, Dykstra keyed the Jackrabbits comeback by scoring eight points in the final 17 seconds to lift his team from down 71-66 to a 74-73 victory. He hit a three-pointer at 0:17 to draw within two, then knocked down the go-ahead trey three seconds later before converting a pair of free throws to extend the lead to three with 0:03 on the clock. Dykstra scored all 14 of SDSU's points over the final 2:51 and all of his scoring (18 points) came in the second half. Two days later, Dykstra recorded a double-double with 16 points and a game-high 11 rebounds in a victory at South Dakota that moved SDSU past its rival in the league standings. Among Dykstra's weekly numbers were a .900 free throw percentage on 18-of-20 shooting from the line.

Also nominated: Chris Udofia, Denver; Elijah Ray, IUPUI; Joe Reed, Fort Wayne; Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State; Justin Simmons, Omaha; Garret Covington, Western Illinois.

Previous honorees: 11/11 – Mitch Patton, IUPUI/CJ Carter, Omaha; 11/18 – Luis Jacobo, Fort Wayne; 11/25 – Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; 12/2 – Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State; 12/9 – Chris Udofia, Denver; 12/16 – Brett Olson, Denver/Marshall Bjorklund, North Dakota State; 12/23 – Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; 12/30 – John Karhoff, Omaha; 1/6 – Garret Covington, Western Illinois; 1/13 – Luis Jacobo, Fort Wayne; 1/21 – Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; 1/27 – Pierre Bland, Fort Wayne / Taylor Braun, North Dakota State.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from eight member institutions: Denver, Fort Wayne, IUPUI, North Dakota State, Omaha, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois. Known as the Mid-Continent Conference until 2007, The Summit League has enjoyed unprecedented success in recent seasons including new tournament and regular season attendance standards, record postseason tournament participation, all-time best RPI rankings, national player honors and NCAA statistical champions. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit and follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops.