SDSU’s Dykstra Named Player of the Week

SDSU’s Dykstra Named Player of the Week

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State's Jordan Dykstra was named as The Summit League's Men's Basketball Player of the Week following his performance Feb. 24-March 2. The accolade is the final weekly award of the season.

Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State
Sr. // F // Rock Valley, Iowa

Dykstra collected his third award this season after averaging 19.0 points, 9.0 rebounds, 3.0 assists and 2.0 steals per game in a pair of South Dakota State victories. Against Denver, Dykstra scored 19 points, pulled down eight rebounds, dished out three assists, had three steals and blocked one shot. He shot 57.1 percent (4-7) from the field, 66.7 (2-3) percent from beyond the arc and 90.0 percent (9-10) at the free throw line. Facing rival South Dakota, Dykstra recorded his league-high eighth double-double of the season with a 19-point, 10-rebound performance that also included three assists and one steal. He shot 55.6 percent (5-9) from the field and 88.9 percent from the line (8-9) in the regular season finale. For the week, Dykstra recorded shooting percentages of 56.3 from the field, 50.0 from three-point range and 89.5 at the free throw line.

Also nominated: Luis Jacobo, Fort Wayne; Ian Chiles, IUPUI; Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; Michael Ochereobia, Western Illinois.

Previous honorees: 11/11 – Mitch Patton, IUPUI/CJ Carter, Omaha; 11/18 – Luis Jacobo, Fort Wayne; 11/25 – Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; 12/2 – Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State; 12/9 – Chris Udofia, Denver; 12/16 – Brett Olson, Denver/Marshall Bjorklund, North Dakota State; 12/23 – Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; 12/30 – John Karhoff, Omaha; 1/6 – Garret Covington, Western Illinois; 1/13 – Luis Jacobo, Fort Wayne; 1/21 – Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; 1/27 – Pierre Bland, Fort Wayne / Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; 2/3 – Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State; 2/10 – Brett Olson, Denver; 2/17 – Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; 2/24 – Chris Udofia, Denver.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from eight member institutions: Denver, Fort Wayne, IUPUI, North Dakota State, Omaha, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois. Known as the Mid-Continent Conference until 2007, The Summit League has enjoyed unprecedented success in recent seasons including new tournament and regular season attendance standards, record postseason tournament participation, all-time best RPI rankings, national player honors and NCAA statistical champions. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit and follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops.