Fort Wayne's Jasick Receives Mid-Major Coach of the Year Honor

Fort Wayne's Jasick Receives Mid-Major Coach of the Year Honor

DALLAS, Texas ( - IPFW men's basketball head coach Tony Jasick has been named the Hugh Durham National Coach of the Year, presented by

The Hugh Durham award is presented annually to the top Division I mid-major coach in college basketball. The award is named after Hugh Durham who is one of the winningest coaches in college basketball history. In eight seasons as the head coach at Jacksonville University, Durham became the Dolphins' all-time winningest Division I coach (106 wins), making him the only coach in NCAA history to be the winningest coach (pct. or wins) at three different Division I schools. He had the longest tenure (8 seasons) of any coach in the 56-year history of Jacksonville University basketball. He built national programs at Florida State where he holds the record for best winning percentage with a 230-95 (.708) record in 12 years. And at Georgia where he is also the all-time winningest coach in the 99-year history of the Bulldog program, having won 297 games in 17 seasons.

Jasick led the Mastodons to a program-record 25 wins in 2013-14, falling in the Summit League Tournament championship game, another first for the program. His 25 wins is tied for the ninth-most in Summit League history, while the teams' 2,774 points during the season and its 285 three-point field goals made are the fourth and fifth highest totals in Summit League history, respectively.

The squad hosted and won a first-round CIT Tournament game against Akron, before falling in the second round to VMI, an eventual semifinalist in the tournament. He helped guide IPFW to its highest RPI in program history (115), with two wins over programs with RPI's below 100. 

Jasick is 52-47 in his three years at the helm of the program, the second-most wins over the first three years as coach in program history. Through three seasons his overall win total puts him fourth on the school's all-time list, 15 wins away from third. 

The past recepients of the award include, 2013: Danny Kaspar, Stephen F. Austin, 2012: Eddie Payne, USC Upstate, 2011: Rick Byrd, Belmont, 2010: Mike Young, Wofford, 2009: Todd Bozeman, Morgan State, 2008: Keno Davis, Drake, 2007: Greg Marshall, Winthrop, 2006: Pat Flannery, Bucknell, 2005: Bob Thomason, Pacific.