NDSU's Alexander, USD's Larson Named #SummitMBB Players of the Week

NDSU's Alexander, USD's Larson Named #SummitMBB Players of the Week

ELMHURST, Ill. – North Dakota State's Lawrence Alexander and South Dakota's Tyler Larson were named The Summit League's Players of the Week following their performances Feb. 9-15.

Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State
Sr. // G // Peoria, Ill.

Alexander garnered his second consecutive honor and third of the season after averaging 26.0 points per game. In an overtime win at Denver, Alexander scored 28 and gathered a team-high seven rebounds. He connected on four-of-six (.667) three-point attempts and converted 10-of-11 (.909) free throws in the contest. Two days later at South Dakota State, Alexander scored a game-high 24 points and pulled down a season-high nine rebounds. He connected on five three-pointers in the game, dished out three assists and had three steals. For the week, he shot 52.9 percent from beyond the arc while averaging eight rebounds and posting a 5.0 assist to turnover ratio.

Tyler Larson, South Dakota
Sr. // G // Las Vegas, Nev.

Larson earned his first career Player of the Week award after averaging 19.5 points per game in a pair of key road victories. At Omaha, Larson scored a team-high 20 points and pulled down seven rebounds to go along with a career-high four steals. Two nights later at Oral Roberts, Larson scored 19 on six-of-eight shooting, recorded six rebounds and did not commit a turnover in 38 minutes. For the week, Larson shot 56.0 percent from the field, including 50.0 percent from three-point range, and averaged 19.5 points, 6.5 rebounds and 2.0 steals.

Also nominated: Brett Olson, Denver; Steve Forbes, Fort Wayne; DavRon Williams, IUPUI; Mike Rostampour, Omaha; Cody Larson, South Dakota State.  

Previous recipients: Nov. 17 – Obi Emegano, Oral Roberts; Nov. 24 – CJ Carter, Omaha; Dec. 1 – Brandon Bos, South Dakota; Dec. 8 – Steve Forbes, Fort Wayne; Dec. 15 – Garret Covington, Western Illinois; Dec. 22 – Devin Patterson, Omaha; Dec. 29 – Casey Kasperbauer, South Dakota; Jan. 5 – Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State / Jabari Sandifer, Western Illinois; Jan. 12 – George Marshall, South Dakota State; Jan. 19 – CJ Carter, Omaha; Jan. 26 – Cody Larson, South Dakota State; Feb. 2 – Steve Forbes, Fort Wayne; Feb. 9 – Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State / Max Landis, Fort Wayne.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from nine member institutions: Denver, Fort Wayne, IUPUI, North Dakota State, Omaha, Oral Roberts, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois. Over the past five seasons (2010-14), The Summit League owns the nation's highest RPI gain (+9). In 2013-14, The Summit League had three teams advance in national postseason tournaments, highlighted by an NCAA Tournament Round of 64 victory, recorded its third consecutive top-20 RPI finish, achieved an all-time high USA Today Sagarin rating, and saw a record 10 former players on NBA and D-League rosters. The Summit League Basketball Championships, called "March's Best-Kept Secret" by USA Today and among the most attended tournaments in the nation, move into the brand-new Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D., March 7-10, 2015.  For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit www.thesummitleague.org, follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops, download The Summit League's Front Row app and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.