USD’s Larson Named #SummitMBB Player of the Week

USD’s Larson Named #SummitMBB Player of the Week

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota's Tyler Larson was named The Summit League's Players of the Week following his performance Feb. 16-22.

Tyler Larson, South Dakota
Sr. // G // Las Vegas, Nev.

Larson earned his second career honor is as many weeks after posting his league-leading 10th double-double in a key victory. Against IUPUI, Larson scored 21 points and pulled down 13 rebounds to go along with three assists and one steal without a turnover in a win that lifted South Dakota into a third-place tie in The Summit League standings. He converted 60 percent (three-of-five) of his three-point attempts and all four free throws in the contest and collected six of his rebounds came in the game's final five minutes to help seal the victory. For the week, including a non-league outing, Larson shot 50 from the field, 57.1 percent from beyond the arc and 100 percent from the free throw line.

Also nominated: Cam Griffin, Denver; Joe Edwards, Fort Wayne; Marcellus Barksdale, IUPUI; Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State; Devin Patterson, Omaha; Cody Larson, South Dakota State.  

Previous recipients: Nov. 17 – Obi Emegano, Oral Roberts; Nov. 24 – CJ Carter, Omaha; Dec. 1 – Brandon Bos, South Dakota; Dec. 8 – Steve Forbes, Fort Wayne; Dec. 15 – Garret Covington, Western Illinois; Dec. 22 – Devin Patterson, Omaha; Dec. 29 – Casey Kasperbauer, South Dakota; Jan. 5 – Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State / Jabari Sandifer, Western Illinois; Jan. 12 – George Marshall, South Dakota State; Jan. 19 – CJ Carter, Omaha; Jan. 26 – Cody Larson, South Dakota State; Feb. 2 – Steve Forbes, Fort Wayne; Feb. 9 – Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State / Max Landis, Fort Wayne; Feb. 16 – Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State / Tyler Larson, South Dakota.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from nine member institutions: Denver, Fort Wayne, IUPUI, North Dakota State, Omaha, Oral Roberts, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois. Over the past five seasons (2010-14), The Summit League owns the nation's highest RPI gain (+9). In 2013-14, The Summit League had three teams advance in national postseason tournaments, highlighted by an NCAA Tournament Round of 64 victory, recorded its third consecutive top-20 RPI finish, achieved an all-time high USA Today Sagarin rating, and saw a record 10 former players on NBA and D-League rosters. The Summit League Basketball Championships, called "March's Best-Kept Secret" by USA Today and among the most attended tournaments in the nation, move into the brand-new Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D., March 7-10, 2015.  For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit, follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops, download The Summit League's Front Row app and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at