#SummitMBB Academic All-League Team Announced

#SummitMBB Academic All-League Team Announced

ELMHURST, Ill. – Five men's basketball players were selected to the 2014-15 Summit League Academic All-League Team as voted by the faculty athletic representatives and sports information directors of the league's nine member institutions. Student-athletes were chosen for the honor based on their academic and athletic performances this season.

The league's two Capital One Academic All-District honorees, South Dakota's Brandon Bos and North Dakota State's Chris Kading, led the way with their second consecutive Academic All-League selections.

Joining the duo on the team were IUPUI's Khufu Najee, a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award, along with North Dakota State's A.J. Jacobson and South Dakota State's Cody Larson. Jacobson previously earned selection as honorable mention All-Summit League and was named to the All-Newcomer team while Larson was the league's Defensive Player of the Year and garnered First Team All-Summit honors.

Bos, who has a 3.57 GPA in kinesiology and sport science with minors in business and entrepreneurial studies, started all 33 games for the Coyotes and was the team's second-leading scorer at 13.8 points per game. The Markham, Ontario, native ranked third on USD in rebounds (3.6 per game) and assists (74). Bos scored a career-high 29 points in USD's Summit League Quarterfinal victory over Fort Wayne, one of his six 20-point performances his senior season.

Kading, with a 3.798 GPA in exercise science, started all 30 games played this season while helping the Bison to The Summit League's regular season co-championship and tournament title. The De Pere, Wis., native led the league with 47 blocked shots while averaging 5.4 points, 4.0 rebounds and 1.5 blocks per game during his junior campaign.

Najee, who has a 3.71 GPA in sports journalism, averaged 7.4 points, 3.1 rebounds and 1.2 assists for the Jaguars. The Berkeley, Calif., native scored in double-figures six times during his senior year, including a season-high 15 in The Summit League Quarterfinal round.

Jacobson, with a 4.00 GPA in biological sciences, was The Summit League's top-scoring freshman with an 11.9 points per game average. The redshirt freshman from Fargo ranked second in free throw percentage (89.4) and eighth in three-point percentage (44.3) during league play.

Larson, who has a 3.374 GPA in psychology, had the top rebounding total (7.7 per game) and ranked fifth in scoring (15.4 ppg) during league play while helping the Jackrabbits to a share of the regular season league title. The Sioux Falls, S.D., native recorded eight double-doubles on the year and scored at least 20 points in three games. After helping SDSU to its first Division I postseason victory, a win at Colorado State in the NIT, Larson closed his senior season with 18 points and 10 rebounds in the NIT second round game at Vanderbilt.

To be eligible for the Academic All-League team, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.30 (on a 4.0 scale), completed at least one full academic year at the current institution and participated in 50 percent of their team's competitions.

2014-15 Summit League Men's Basketball Academic All-League Team








Brandon Bos

South Dakota



Markham, Ontario


Kinesiology and Spot Science

A.J. Jacobson

North Dakota State



Fargo, N.D.


Biological Sciences

Chris Kading

North Dakota State



De Pere, Wis.


Exercise Science

Cody Larson

South Dakota State



Sioux Falls, S.D.



Khufu Najee




Berkeley, Calif.


Sports Journalism

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit www.thesummitleague.org, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League's Front Row app, and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.