SDSU's Parks Named Riley Wallace Award Finalist

SDSU's Parks Named Riley Wallace Award Finalist

BOSTON, Mass. ( – The Riley Wallace Player of the Year Award, along with, released the finalist for the 2015 Riley Wallace Award on Tuesday, and the list includes South Dakota State guard Deondre Parks.

A 6-1 junior from Flint, Mich., Parks transferred to South Dakota State from Iowa Lakes Community College, where he earned NJCAA All-American honors twice. In his first year at SDSU, he started all 35 games and led the Jackrabbits with 14.1 points per game, adding 4.1 rebounds and 1.9 assists per game in earning Summit League Newcomer of the Year, All-Summit League First Team and Summit League Championship All-Tournament Team honors.

All of the finalists also earn Riley Wallace Award All-American honors.

The Riley Wallace award is presented annually to the top transfer in Division I college basketball. During his coaching career at Hawaii; Wallace welcomed many transfers into the program, which helped him to become the winningest coach in Hawaii history.

Wallace guided Hawaii to nine postseason appearances, including a school-record streak of four straight from 2001-04. The Warriors appeared in the NCAA Tournament three times under Wallace and have been invited to the National Invitation Tournament (NIT) on six occasions. Prior to his arrival, the program had just one NCAA appearance and two trips to the NIT.

The recipient of the 2015 award will be announced at the Awards Banquet on April 3, in Indianapolis, site of the 2015 men's Division I basketball championship.

DeVaughn Akoon-Purcell, Illinois State
Dwayne Benjamin, Oregon
Jaylon Bond, Temple
Martin Breunig, Montana
Aaron Bright, Saint Mary's
Octavius Ellis, Cincinnati
Bryn Forbes, Michigan State
Trey Freeman, Old Dominion
Juan'Ya Green, Hofstra
Danuel House, Texas A&M
Trevor Lacey, NC State
Matt Lopez, Rider
Sheldon McClellan, Miami
Jameel McKay, Iowa State
Stefan Moody, Ole Miss
Mike Myers, UMES
Deondre Parks, South Dakota State
Gary Payton II, Oregon State
Jordan Price, La Salle
Rodney Pryor, Robert Morris
Jeff Short, Norfolk State
Evan Singletary, Albany
Deville Smith, UT-Martin
TaShawn Thomas, Oklahoma
Darien Walker, Valparaiso
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga

* Due to a tie in the voting, there are 26 players on the team