Six Summit Leaguers Named to NABC Honors Court

Six Summit Leaguers Named to NABC Honors Court

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Six Summit League men's basketball players were named by The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) to the 2014-15 NABC Honors Court. The honor recognizes those men's collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the past season.

North Dakota State's trio of Chris Kading, Dexter Werner and A.J. Jacobson led the way. Omaha had a pair of honorees in Randy Reed and Rylan Murry while Oral Roberts also earned recognition with Obi Emegano.

A a record number of 1,000 student-athletes from more than 350 colleges and universities were named to the NABC Honors Court, which recognizes the talents and gifts that these men possess off the court and the hard work they exhibit in the classroom.

In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are as follows:

     1. Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player.
     2. Cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2014-15 academic year.
     3. Students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution.
     4. Member of a NCAA Divisions I, II, III, or NAIA Divisions I or II institution with a NABC member coach.

Click here for the full list. @NABC1927 invites you to share the success of these student athletes using #NABC #HONORSCOURT.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from nine member institutions: Denver, Fort Wayne, IUPUI, North Dakota State, Omaha, Oral Roberts, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois. In 2014-15, The Summit League completed its fourth straight season with both a top-20 league RPI finish and a league-record four teams in national postseason tournaments. Called "March's Best-Kept Secret" by USA Today, The Summit League Basketball Championships further established itself as one of the nation's top tournaments by smashing league attendance figures in five-of-six categories, including total attendance by an astounding 33 percent, at the new Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D. This season's tournament returns to the venue March 5-8, 2016. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit the newly re-designed website, follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at