NDSU's Jacobson Lands on Senior CLASS All-America First Team

NDSU's Jacobson Lands on Senior CLASS All-America First Team

Senior CLASS Award Release 

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (gobison.com) -- North Dakota State senior men's basketball player A.J. Jacobson has been named to the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award First Team, it was announced Friday, March 30.
To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. Jacobson was previously chosen as one of 30 candidates for the award, then one of 10 finalists, and now one of the top five honorees in the nation.
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.
Jacobson graduated with his bachelor's degree in zoology following his junior season (May 2017) with a 3.992 cumulative GPA and has now begun an MBA program. Following his time at NDSU, he will enter dental school.
Jacobson ended his career ranked seventh all-time at NDSU with 211 three-pointers made, 10th with a 40.3-percent career three-point percentage, and 20th in school history with 1,355 points. His 122 career starts were the fourth-most ever by a Bison. He was a three-time Academic All-America honoree, earning first-team recognition as a junior and senior.
A high-character senior leader for the Bison, Jacobson has had surgery to repair injuries to his shoulder, thumb, foot and wrist over the past three years and has battled through those nagging injuries to play an average of 30 games per season.
Jacobson has volunteered at numerous community events, including school visits, hospital visits and youth events and has been involved in North Dakota Special Olympics. Along with his teammates, he has participated in several community service events each year, including volunteering at a homeless shelter on Thanksgiving, serving food at a charity event, and teaching special-needs children to ride bikes. 
Senior CLASS Award First-Team All-Americans 
Shawn Anderson, Navy
Jevon Carter, West Virginia
A.J. Jacobson, North Dakota State
Justin Johnson, Western Kentucky
Yante Maten, Georgia
Senior CLASS Award Second-Team All-Americans
Vladimir Brodziansky, TCU
Angel Delgado, Seton Hall
Rob Gray, Houston
Luke Morrison, Army
Johnathan Williams, Gonzaga

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from eight member institutions: Denver, Fort Wayne, North Dakota State, Omaha, Oral Roberts, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois with North Dakota becoming an official member for the 2018-19 season. For more information about the league, "See The Summit" by visiting www.thesummitleague.org and following Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops.


2018-19 Basketball Media Day
October 19, 2018 2018-19 Basketball Media Day
#SummitMBB Weekly Notebook
February 20, 2018 #SummitMBB Weekly Notebook
#SummitMBB Saturday Recap
February 17, 2018 #SummitMBB Saturday Recap
#SummitMBB Saturday Recaps
February 10, 2018 #SummitMBB Saturday Recaps
#SummitMBB Saturday Recap
February 3, 2018 #SummitMBB Saturday Recap