Daum collects record-tying third #SummitMBB Player of the Year Award

Daum collects record-tying third #SummitMBB Player of the Year Award

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – South Dakota State senior Mike Daum and Summit League history have been linked together a lot throughout his collegiate career and Thursday's release of the 2018-19 men's basketball postseason awards only strengthened that bond and his case as one of the league's all-time greats.

Daum's name is scattered throughout the league's record book and his latest accolades – a third Player of the Year honor and fourth All-Summit League First Team selection – have only been achieved by one league player before him, Oral Roberts' Caleb Green (2003-07).  

The former Golden Eagle can take some solace in still sharing those significant individual achievements with Daum because SDSU's six-foot-nine forward knocked him from his perch as the league's all-time leading scorer and rebounder during the course of another historic season for the Jackrabbits.

The Kimball, Neb., native ranks among the top five in the country in overall scoring (25.6 ppg) and rebounding (11.7 ppg) this season while compiling 20 double-doubles, which is the second highest total in Division I. He also broke the league's single-season record for Player of the Week honors with eight.

Daum was not alone over the last four seasons in building a resume worthy of consideration for all-time great status. That distinction also belongs to Purdue Fort Wayne's John Konchar who joined Daum and Green on the list of four-time All-Summit League First Team performers.

Konchar ranked among the league leaders in scoring (20.8 ppg; 2nd), rebounding (7.8 rpg; 6th), assists (5.9 apg; 1st) and steals (2.4 spg; 1st). He and Daum will both finish as their program's all-time leading scorers and each joined rarefied company in the NCAA Division I history books this season.

The Mastodons' standout became the first player in DI history to score 2,000 points, pull down 1,000 rebounds, dish out 500 assists and record 200 steals in a career while the Jackrabbits' star became just the 10th player in DI history to eclipse 3,000 career points.

That milestone-achieving duo was joined on the first team by Omaha seniors Mitch Hahn (16.8 ppg) and Zach Jackson (18.2 ppg) along with two of the league's sophomore standouts: David Jenkins, Jr., (19.0 ppg) of South Dakota State and Stanley Umude of South Dakota (17.1 ppg). Jackson and Jenkins were both on the 2018 all-league second team.

The steady play of Hahn and Jackson paved the way for their leader, Derrin Hansen, to collect the 2019 Coach of the Year award. Hansen guided the Mavs, a team picked to finish eighth in the preseason coaches' poll, to a second-place finish (13-3) and DI-program record for wins with 19.

Western Illinois' Brandon Gilbeck became the third player in league history to earn back-to-back Defensive Player of the Year honors. Gilbeck recorded just the third triple-double in league history back in February against Purdue Fort Wayne when he set a single-game record for blocks with 10 and enters the postseason leading the nation in total blocks (102).

Oral Roberts' Kevin Obanor was recognized four different times, earning both Freshman of the Year and Sixth Man of the Year honors while also being named to the All-Summit League Second Team and All-Newcomer Team. Obanor ranked fifth during league play scoring (17.5 ppg) and third in rebounding (8.1 rpg) while topping all rookies in those categories.

The Newcomer of the Year Award went to North Dakota State's Vinnie Shahid (13.4 ppg), who helped lead the Bison to a 9-7 record in league play during his first season in Fargo after transferring in from Western Nebraska Community College.

Gilbeck (9.8 ppg) and Obanor each had a teammate join them on the all-league second team. ORU's Emmanuel Nzekwesi (16.8 ppg) and WIU's Kobe Webster (15.6 ppg) each landed on that unit after earning honorable mention honors a season ago. Rounding out the second team was South Dakota State senior Skyler Flatten (16.1) who collected his first postseason accolade.

Obanor and Shahid were joined on the All-Newcomer Team by a trio of players with previous DI experience. Those three were Ronnie Harrell, Jr. (12.3 ppg), of Denver, Matt Holba (13.4 ppg) of Purdue Fort Wayne and Cody Kelley (10.6 ppg) of South Dakota.

Shahid and four others earned honorable mention distinction. The remaining quartet included Trey Burch-Manning of South Dakota, Kason Harrell of Purdue Fort Wayne, Cortez Seales of North Dakota and Triston Simpson of South Dakota.

Eight of the league's nine teams will embark on Sioux Falls this weekend for The Summit League Men's Basketball Championship. The action starts Saturday at 6 p.m. CT when top-seeded South Dakota State takes on No. 8 Western Illinois at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center.

2019 Summit League Men's Basketball Awards
First Team
Mike Daum, South Dakota State (Sr., F)****
Mitch Hahn, Omaha (Sr., F)
Zach Jackson, Omaha (Sr., G)**
David Jenkins, South Dakota State (So., G)**
John Konchar, Purdue Fort Wayne (Sr., G)****
Stanley Umude, South Dakota (So., F)

Second Team
Skyler Flatten, South Dakota State (Sr., G)
Brandon Gilbeck, Western Illinois (Sr., C)
Emmanuel Nzekwesi, Oral Roberts (Jr., F)
Kevin Obanor, Oral Roberts (Fr., F)
Kobe Webster, Western Illinois (So., G)

Honorable Mention
Trey Burch-Manning, South Dakota (Sr., F)*
Kason Harrell, Purdue Fort Wayne (Sr., G)
Cortez Seales, North Dakota (Sr., G)
Vinnie Shahid, North Dakota State (Jr., G)
Triston Simpson, South Dakota (Jr., G)

All-Newcomer Team
Ronnie Harrell, Jr., Denver (Sr., F)
Matt Holba, Purdue Fort Wayne (Jr., F)
Cody Kelley, South Dakota (Jr., G)
Kevin Obanor, Oral Roberts (Fr., F)
Vinnie Shahid, North Dakota State (Jr., G)

Player of the Year
Mike Daum, South Dakota State

Defensive Player of the Year
Brandon Gilbeck, Western Illinois

Sixth Man of the Year
Kevin Obanor, Oral Roberts

Freshman of the Year
Kevin Obanor, Oral Roberts

Newcomer of the Year
Vinnie Shahid, North Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Derrin Hansen, Omaha

*previous all-league selections

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram|

2018-19 Basketball Media Day
October 19, 2018 2018-19 Basketball Media Day