#SummitMSOC Trio Named Academic All-District™

Denver's Sam Hamilton, Omaha's Mark Moulton & Oral Roberts' Matthew Rogers
Denver's Sam Hamilton, Omaha's Mark Moulton & Oral Roberts' Matthew Rogers

CoSIDA Men's Soccer Academic All-District Release

ELMHURST, Ill. -- A trio of Summit League men's soccer standouts were named to the Academic All-District First Team as selected by CoSIDA it was announced Thursday.

Denver midfielder Sam Hamilton, Omaha midfielder Mark Moulton and Oral Roberts forward Matthew Rogers were each named to the District 7 Team.

Hamilton earned the honor for the second-consecutive season, in addition to his candidacy for the Senior CLASS Award in October. An accounting major with a 3.86 grade-point average (GPA), the two-time captain has led Denver to a 53-12-10 record over the last four years, the fourth highest mark in the country, while leading Denver's defensive corps to the fourth-best shutout percentage in the nation in 2016 (0.63). Hamilton has seven of his 11 career assists in 2016, the seventh-best mark in Denver's Division I single-season history.

Moulton earned first-team all-district honors with a 3.96 GPA in business administration. As a junior in 2015, he was tabbed a Second-Team Academic All-American. Moulton has three points this season on a goal and an assist while starting 14 games. The honor is the latest in a long list of awards for the Omaha, Neb., native.  This season, he is a candidate for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award.  Last season, he was recognized as a Summit League Distinguished Scholar and earned Academic All-Summit League honors.  Additionally, he is a two-time First Team All-Summit League performer.  Moulton tied the career mark for career points (45) and is the program's career record holder for assists (19).

Rogers has a 3.54 GPA as a business administration major at Oral Roberts. On the year, the junior has scored four goals, including the game-winner at Incarnate Word on Aug. 26.

All three recipients advance to the CoSIDA Academic All-America® Team ballot, where first-, second- and third-team All-America honorees will be selected next month.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.