Denver Captures Fourth Straight #SummitMSOC Title

2016 Denver Pioneers (photo by Teddy Choi)
2016 Denver Pioneers (photo by Teddy Choi)

The Basics
Score: No. 2 4 Denver 2, No. 1 Omaha 1
Records: Denver (17-0-3) Omaha (10-5-4)
Location: CIBER Field – Denver, Colo.

DENVER – No. 2 Denver captured its fourth consecutive Summit League Men's Soccer title with a come-from-behind win over top-seeded Omaha by a 2-1 score Saturday at CIBER Field. With the win, the Pioneers earn the league's automatic NCAA Tournament berth.

In dramatic fashion, Pioneer forward Andre Shinyashiki scored the game-winning goal with 41 seconds remaining to keep Denver unbeaten on the year. The sophomore headed the ball from seven yards out to the left post, taking a cross from Sam Hamilton.

Shinyashiki also tallied the game-tying goal in the 75th minute from six yards out. Blake Elder and Graham Smith were credited with the assists.

The Mavericks scored the match's first goal in the 58th minute as Jacob Weiler netted a direct free kick from Fazlo Alihodzic to the right post.

An aggressive first half of action saw Denver total 12 shots, four on goal, compared to just three shots for Omaha. DU's Reagan Dunk and Kenny Akamatsu saw near misses on excellent saves by UNO goalie, Joseph Ghitis.

Turning Point
After falling behind in the 58th minute, Denver regained the momentum with Andre Shinyashiki's goal in the 75th minute. Shinyashiki then scored the game-winner with a mere 41 second left in regulation.

Inside The Box Score

  • Attendance was 583.
  • Denver held an 18-6 shot advantage while corner kicks were even at four apiece.
  • Andre Shinyashiki led the Pioneers with five shots, three on goal, while Fazlo Alihodzic and Mark Moulton led the Mavericks with two each.
  • Omaha goalie Joseph Ghitis recorded four saves in the match while his counterpart Nick Gardner had one.

News & Notes

  • Denver captures its fourth consecutive Summit League Championship title.
  • DU's four championship titles are the second most in league history (Western Illinois, 6).
  • Denver becomes the first No. 2 seed to win the league title since 2009 (Western Illinois).
  • Omaha reached the title game for the first time in league history.
  • Denver improves to 8-0-0 all-time in tournament play while Omaha falls to 1-2-0.
  • Andre Shinyashiki, who scored both Denver goals, earned the start in place of Kortne Ford, who sat out the match due to receiving a red card in Thursday's semifinal match against Western Illinois.

All-Tournament Team
Fazlo Alihodzic, Omaha
Jacob Bevan, Western Illinois
Jacob Bjornsen, Western Illinois
Scott DeVoss, Denver
Lalo Gamboa, Omaha
Karsten Hanlin, Denver
Jonathan Huerta, Eastern Illinois
Jake McCain, Omaha
Marcus Menniti, Eastern Illinois
Andre Shinyashiki, Denver (MVP)
Graham Smith, Denver

Up Next
Denver earns The Summit League's automatic bid into the NCAA Men's Soccer Tournament. The NCAA Men's Soccer selection show takes place Monday at Noon on

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at