Denver Earns No. 6 Overall Seed in 2016 NCAA Tournament

photo by Teddy Choi
photo by Teddy Choi

NCAA Tournament Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS ( – The University of Denver men's soccer program has earned the No. 6 overall seed in the 2016 NCAA Men's Soccer Championships, the NCAA released during its selection show on Monday. With the sixth seed, Denver earns a bye for the second-consecutive season, and will host the winner of San Diego State and UNLV in the second round on Sunday at 5 p.m. MT at CIBER Field at the University of Denver Soccer Stadium.

Should the Pioneers (17-0-3) advance, Denver would also host the NCAA Round of 16 the weekend of Nov. 26 and 27 at CIBER Field.

DU was drawn into (3) Clemson's region, with (11) Washington and (14) Albany also seeded in the region on the road to Houston.

Denver won its fourth-consecutive Summit League Regular Season and Tournament titles in 2016, winning Saturday's final 2-1, thanks to a pair of goals in the final 15 minutes from sophomore striker Andre Shinyashiki (Sao Paulo, Brazil).

The first team to go unbeaten in consecutive regular seasons and league tournaments since Clemson did it in 1977-78, the Pioneers are now 45-3-4 at CIBER Field since second year head coach Jamie Franks joined the staff as an assistant in 2012, and 38-1-2 in their last 41 home matches. Denver is also 56-12-11 over the last four years, entering the NCAA Tournament with the fourth-best record in the country during that span. 

Ticket Information:
Tickets for Denver's second round match will go on sale Tuesday at 9 a.m. MT on

NCAA Tournament Ticket Prices

  • Reserved seatback: $11
  • General Admission: $7
  • Youth 16 and Under: $3
  • Students with a valid University ID: $3

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at