Denver Ranked Third in Final NSCAA Poll

Denver vs. Wake Forest -- NCAA College Cup Semifinal (photo by Joe Buvid)
Denver vs. Wake Forest -- NCAA College Cup Semifinal (photo by Joe Buvid)


KANSAS CITY, Mo. ( – Following a 20-1-3 campaign that ended in extra time of the National Semifinals of Denver's first College Cup appearance, the University of Denver men's soccer team finished third in the final National Soccer Coaches' Association of America Poll that was released on Tuesday. DU's No. 3 national ranking is its highest in program history in the NSCAA Poll. 

In just his second season in charge, head coach Jamie Franks and the 2016 NSCAA West Regional Coaching Staff of the Year picked up multiple wins (three) in the NCAA Tournament for the first time in program history, and earned the program's first postseason victory since 1970 en route to Houston for the College Cup. 

The Pioneers were the final unbeaten team in the country for the second-straight season and became the first program since Clemson in 1977-78 to finish consecutive regular seasons unbeaten. 

Led by two-time captain Sam Hamilton, Denver's senior class finished 55-19-12 over the last four seasons, the third best mark in the country during that span. DU's senior class also claimed four-straight Summit League Regular Season and Tournament titles, and matched the program record for wins in a season with 20 in 2016 (1988-NAIA).   

Denver right back Reagan Dunk earned NSCAA First Team All-America honors last week, and was named a MAC Hermann Semifinalist for the second-consecutive season, both firsts in Denver's Division I history. 

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at