DU's Hamilton and Ford Named Scholar All-America

Photo by Teddy Choi
Photo by Teddy Choi

NSCAA Release 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (denverpioneers.com) -- University of Denver men's soccer two-time captain Sam Hamilton earned NSCAA First Team Scholar All-America honors and junior centerback Kortne Ford earned Second Team Scholar All-American honors, the NSCAA announced this week. 

Hamilton will enter the winter quarter at DU with a 3.81 grade point average in accounting. The Evergreen, Colo., native earned CoSIDA Academic All-America honors last month for his performances in the classroom and on the field as well. With his first order of business after being named the head coach ahead of the 2015 season, head coach Jamie Franks made Hamilton captain of the Pioneers, a role he has excelled in on his way to helping lead the Pioneers to a 35-2-6 record over the last two seasons. Hamilton and Denver's senior class finished 55-19-12 over the last four seasons, the third best mark in the country during that span. Hamilton finished with 83 collegiate appearances, becoming the most capped player in Denver's Division I history. 

Ford will enter the winter quarter with a 3.45 grade point average in marketing. The Greeley, Colo., native has started all 62 matches at centerback since arriving on the Denver campus in 2014. In his first two years, the athletic Denver defender had no goals and one assist, but the Denver junior scored five times off set plays in 2016, including the game-winner to send Denver to its first College Cup in program history in a 1-0 win over No. 3 Clemson in the NCAA Quarterfinals earlier this month. In the back, Ford has helped reshape a Denver defense that in 2014 was 106th in the country in goals against average, and that in the last two years has finished in the top three in the country in that statistical category. 

Following the Summit League Tournament, Hamilton and redshirt-senior Karsten Hanlin were named to the Academic All-Summit League Team. 

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.