North Dakota State Captures Summit League Softball Championship

Photo by Richard Svaleson
Photo by Richard Svaleson

2014 Softball Championship Page | Bracket (PDF)

Softball Championship - Game 11: (1) North Dakota State vs. (2) Fort Wayne
May 11, 2014

Highlights and interviews from Sunday's Championship game.

The Basics
Score: No. 1 North Dakota State 12, No. 2 Fort Wayne 5
Records: North Dakota State (35-16), Fort Wayne (40-15)
Location: Ellig Sports Complex – Fargo, N.D.

Fargo, N.D. – Top-seeded North Dakota State captured the 2014 Summit League Tournament crown by defeating Fort Wayne, 12-5 on Sunday morning at Ellig Sports Complex.  The tournament title marks the Bison's fifth in six years.

Turning Point
North Dakota State scored first with 11 unanswered runs in the first four innings.  The Bison took a 2-0 lead in the bottom of the second inning as Jackie Stifter hit a two-run homer to right center.

NDSU added four more runs on four hits in the bottom of the third and plated five runs in the fourth on four hits, including a pair of two-run homers by Logan Moreland and Amanda Grable.

Fort Wayne got on the scoreboard in the top of the fifth as Larissa Franklin drew a bases-load walk to make it an 11-1 game.  Then with two outs, Dani Pugh blasted a grand slam over the right field fence to cut the lead to six, 11-5.

The Bison added an insurance run on two hits in the bottom of the fifth.

Inside The Box Score

  • Seven different players on both teams tallied at least one hit in the game. North Dakota State had six players record multi-hit games.  Alex Sobrero, Jenina Ortega, Amanda Grable, and Jenna Isbel each went 2-for-3 for the Bison.

News & Notes

  • North Dakota State tied The Summit League Championship single-game team record with four home runs, marking the fourth team to hit four homers in a game this tournament.
  • North Dakota State's 11 RBI and 12 runs are the fourth most in a tournament game in league history.
  • With her grand slam, Fort Wayne's Dani Pugh set the single-season league record with 60 RBI.
  • North Dakota State's Krista Menke recorded all five of the Bison's victories in the league tournament.

All-Tournament Team
Sammy Bingham, South Dakota State
Alex Bousquet, Fort Wayne
Ashleigh Bousquet, Fort Wayne
Taylor Chitwood, IUPUI
Katie Cochran, South Dakota
Larissa Franklin, Fort Wayne
Amanda Grable, North Dakota State
Miranda Kramer, Fort Wayne
Sammy Marshall, Western Illinois
Krista Menke, North Dakota State (MVP)
Logan Moreland, North Dakota State
Ali Mosier, IUPUI
Jenina Ortega, North Dakota State
Roni Patterson, IUPUI
Alex Sobrero, North Dakota State
Briana Williams, Western Illinois

Up Next
North Dakota State earns the league's automatic bid and awaits its placement in the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Selection Show is tonight, Sunday, May 11, and will be televised live on ESPNU at 9 p.m. CT.


Softball Scoreboard (Feb. 9)
February 9, 2014 Softball Scoreboard (Feb. 9)
Softball Scoreboard (Feb. 8)
February 8, 2014 Softball Scoreboard (Feb. 8)
Softball Scoreboard (Feb. 7)
February 7, 2014 Softball Scoreboard (Feb. 7)