#TheSummitLeague, Sioux Falls Sports Authority to Host 2016 NCAA Women’s Basketball Regional

#TheSummitLeague, Sioux Falls Sports Authority to Host 2016 NCAA Women’s Basketball Regional

NCAA Release

ELMHURST, Ill. – The NCAA announced today that The Summit League and the Sioux Falls Sports Authority will serve as hosts for the 2016 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Regional to be played March 25-28, at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D.

"This announcement is great news for The Summit League," said Commissioner Tom Douple. "The level of success achieved by our tournament in its first six seasons in Sioux Falls was instrumental in the NCAA's decision in awarding the 2016 Regional. The community support along with the opening of the new Denny Sanford PREMIER Center proves Sioux Falls is a worthy host. There is no doubt that between The Summit League, the Sioux Falls Sports Authority and the history of fan support throughout the region and state, we will put on a great show."

Sioux Falls will be the first South Dakota city to host a round of the women's basketball championship. The regional also marks the initial NCAA Championship event hosted by The Summit League.

The Summit League Basketball Championship will debut at the new 12,000-seat, $115 million Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in March 2015 following a record-setting six-year stay at the Sioux Falls Arena.

From 2009-14, The Summit League achieved each of its top five women's tournament attendance figures, both overall and for championship games. The high mark for that span came in 2013 when the tournament drew a record 21,158, sixth-best in the nation, and the championship game was played before an all-time high 6,153 fans.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit www.thesummitleague.org, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League's Front Row app, and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.