Seibert, Waytashek Earn #SummitWBB Weekly Awards

Fort Wayne's Haley Seibert and South Dakota State's Megan Waytashek
Fort Wayne's Haley Seibert and South Dakota State's Megan Waytashek

ELMHURST, Ill. – Fort Wayne's Haley Seibert and South Dakota State's Megan Waytashek were named The Summit League's Players of the Week award for their performances Dec. 1-7.

Haley Seibert, Fort Wayne
Sr., // G // Terre Haute, Ind.
Seibert collects her second career honor after guiding Fort Wayne to a 2-1 record and connecting on all 26 of her free throw attempts last week. Currently, Seibert has drained 51 consecutive free throws, which ranks eighth all-time in NCAA history. On Thursday, she tallied 24 points and dished out four assists in a win at Chicago State on Thursday. The senior guard followed that performance with 19 points, including her 1,000th career point, and two rebounds in Saturday's victory over Northern Kentucky. She also went 14-of-14 at the line which tied a program record and is tied for second in league history. To begin the week, Seibert scored 14 points with three rebound and two assists in an overtime loss to Detroit. For the week, Seibert average 19 points, 2.3 assists, two rebounds and one steal per game while recording a 1.2 assist-to-turnover ratio.

Megan Waytashek, South Dakota State
Sr. // G // Lino Lakes, Minn.
Waytashek earns her fourth career Player of the Week award and first of the season after leading South Dakota State to a pair of wins last week. In Thursday's overtime victory at No. 25 Arkansas, she scored 14 points with four rebounds and one steal. Trailing by nine points with 27 seconds left in regulation, the senior guard helped the Jackrabbits tie the game to force overtime. Waytashek sank seven free throws in the overtime period to help secure the victory. She added 20 points with four rebounds and an assist in Saturday's win at Northern Colorado. For the week, Waytashek averaged 17 points and four rebounds per game while shooting 50 percent (9-of-18) from the field, 71 percent (5-of-7) from three-point range and 92 percent (11-of-12) at the charity stripe.

Previous honorees: Nov. 17 – KeShyra McCarver, IPFW/Raeshel Contreras, USD; Nov. 24 – Ashley Luke, WIU; Dec. 1 – Vicky McIntyre, ORU.

Also nominated: Alecia Espinoza, Denver; Mikale Rogers, IUPUI; Brooke LeMar, North Dakota State; Mikaela Shaw, Omaha; Vicky McIntyre, Oral Roberts; Tia Hemiller, South Dakota.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League features women's basketball teams from nine member institutions: Denver, Fort Wayne, IUPUI, North Dakota State, Omaha, Oral Roberts, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois. Over the past five seasons (2010-14), The Summit League has the nation's second-highest RPI gain (+10) during that span. In 2013-14, The Summit League tied its all-time high with four teams across three national postseason tournaments, recorded its highest combined postseason winning percentage and deepest postseason national tournament run, and had its best year-end Sagarin Ranking in a decade. The Summit League Basketball Championships, called "March's Best-Kept Secret" by USA Today and among the most attended tournaments in the nation, move into the brand-new Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D., March 7-10, 2015. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit, follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops, download The Summit League's Front Row app and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at