DU’s Principato, NDSU’s Purnell Earn First “POTW” Nods of the Season

DU’s Principato, NDSU’s Purnell Earn First “POTW” Nods of the Season

ELMHURST, Ill. – Following their performances to open the 2017 volleyball campaign this past weekend, Denver right-side hitter Kayla Principato notched The Summit League's Offensive Player of the Week title while North Dakota State's Mikaela Purnell locked up the accolade on the defensive side.  

Kayla Principato, Denver

Sr. // RS // Rockville Center, N.Y.

  • Garnered second career Offensive Player of the Week award
  • Logged 42 kills (3.82/set) in 11 sets over the weekend
  • Tallied 20 kills against Col. of Charleston Saturday, one shy of her career best
  • Registered the last two kills of the fourth set to secure the match against Charleston
  • Hitting .447 to begin the season
  • Helped team to an undefeated start in the non-league season (3-0)

Also nominated: Sierra Peterson (SDSU), Emma Norris (WIU), Brianna Rasmusson (NDSU), Laura Milos (ORU)

Mikaela Purnell, North Dakota State

Sr. // OH // Excelsior, Minn.

  • Reigning Defensive Player of the Year secured her fifth career DPOTW title
  • Already boasts 61 digs and 6.10 digs/set this season
  • Registered season-high 26 digs to help lead the Bison to victory over Weber State
  • Extended her streak of consecutive double-digit digs in a match to 23, dating back to September 18, 2016
  • Ranks No. 2 in NDSU history and No. 8 in Summit League history in career digs/set (4.37)

Also nominated: Cassidy Rooke (DU), Payton Richardson (SDSU), Tori Roe (ORU), Claire Grove (WIU)

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


#SummitVB Players of the Week
September 11, 2017 #SummitVB Players of the Week