Denver, South Dakota, Omaha pace the field with seven annual award selections

Denver, Omaha and South Dakota take home seven annual award selections.
Denver, Omaha and South Dakota take home seven annual award selections.

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. –With the 2018 Summit League volleyball regular season completed, league officials announced their annual all-league and individual award recipients Thursday.

South Dakota went home with two individual award honorees, senior Hayley Dotseth claimed the Player of the Year award, while junior Anne Rasmussen picked up the Defensive Player of the Year honor. Dotseth led the league in kills per set (4.07) for a majority of the season and is currently ranked third nationally in attacks per set (13.59). Earlier this season, she earned both her 1,000th-career dig and kill making her only the fifth student-athlete in program history to reach such an accomplishment.

Rasmussen tallied two defensive player of the week awards during the regular season to push her career total to six. She leads the league in digs per set (5.55) and is second in total digs (549). Her 5.55 digs per set average contributed to the Coyote's league-best 18.20 digs per set mark. She established a new school record for a three-set match with 32 digs and joined Dotseth in the Coyotes' 1,000-dig club.

Omaha freshman Sydney Case took home Freshman of the Year and Setter of the Year accolades becoming only the third volleyball student-athlete in league history to earn two individual honors in the same season (POTY, FOTY, Chrissy Knuth, NDSU, 2008; POTY, SOTY, Jennifer Lopez, NDSU, 2011). Case spent most of the season atop the league statistics in assists per set (11.07) and currently ranks 26th nationally. She has eight matches so far this season with 50 or more assists and 16 with 40 or more. The newcomer has also tallied a team-leading seven double-doubles.

Denver head coach Tom Hogan secured his second-straight Coach of the Year honor after guiding the Pioneers to their fifth-straight Summit League regular season championship. His squad logged a perfect league winning percentage with a 15-0 record. The last team to run the table in league play was North Dakota State, whose 2009 club went 18-0. The Pioneers went 26-1 overall, 16-0 at home and are currently riding a 24-match win streak entering the championship.

Denver, South Dakota and Omaha all paced the field with seven total all-league awards. The Pioneers had Becca Latham for the second year in a row, Lydia Bartalo and Katarina Marinkovic while teammates Tina Boe, Ellie Anderson and Emma Willis earned all-league honorable mention honors.

The Coyotes' Dotseth and Rasmussen made the all-league team for the second straight year. Joining the duo on the all-league team was senior Taylor Wilson while freshman Madison Jurgens was named to the all-league honorable mention and all-freshman team.

The Mavericks saw Case and sophomore Isabella Sade land on the all-league team. Case was also named to the all-freshman team alongside teammate Sadie Limback. Sophomore Anna Blaschko received all-league honorable mention to round out Omaha's selections.

Completing the all-league team was three-time honoree Nicole Rightnowar of Purdue Fort Wayne, her teammate Sydney Boerst while North Dakota's Jordan Vail and Oral Robert's Tori Roe received their first annual awards.

Individual Awards

Player of the Year
Hayley Dotseth, South Dakota

Defensive Player of the Year
Anne Rasmussen, South Dakota

Setter of the Year
Sydney Case, Omaha

Freshman of the Year
Sydney Case, Omaha

Coach of the Year
Tom Hogan, Denver


2018 All-Summit League Volleyball Team

First Team
Hayley Dotseth, South Dakota, OH
Becca Latham, Denver, OH
Nicole Rightnowar, Purdue Fort Wayne, OH
Isabella Sade, Omaha, MB
Jordan Vail, North Dakota, MH
Sydney Case, Omaha, S
Anne Rasmussen, South Dakota, DS
Taylor Wilson, South Dakota, MB
Sydney Boerst, Purdue Fort Wayne, MH
Lydia Bartalo, Denver, OH
Katarina Marinkovic, Denver, OH
Tori Roe, Oral Roberts, L 

Honorable Mention
Madison Jurgens, South Dakota, S
Tina Boe, Denver, MB
Anna Blaschko, Omaha, MB
Ellie Anderson, Denver, S
Makenzie Hennen, South Dakota State, OH
Emma Willis, Denver, MB

Freshman Team
Sydney Case, Omaha, S
Madison Jurgens, South Dakota, S
Sadie Limback, Omaha, RS
Taliyah Flores, North Dakota, L
Inka Inkret, Oral Roberts, OH
Kalli Hegerle, North Dakota State, S
Madelyn Wurster, Purdue Fort Wayne, RS

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram
JOIN THE CONVERSATION: #ReachTheSummit | #SummitVB


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.