Denver's season ends with loss to Utah in first round

The Denver Pioneers' 2018 season ends with a loss to Utah in first round of the NCAA Tournament.
The Denver Pioneers' 2018 season ends with a loss to Utah in first round of the NCAA Tournament.

Release courtesy of

PROVO, Utah – The University of Denver women's volleyball team's historic season came to an end on Friday, falling to Utah in three sets in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. The Utes advanced by scores of 25-23, 25-18 and 27-25.

Despite the loss, the Pioneers will wrap up the season with a 27-3 mark, the best record in program history.

Sophomore Lydia Bartalo starred against Utah, totaling 11 kills, eight digs and a .348 hitting percentage.

Thank You Seniors:
This match marked as the final contest for three of Denver's student-athletes. Seniors Becca LathamEmma Willis and Olivia Novotny all saw action in their final game with the Pioneers.

Latham wrapped up her collegiate career with 13 kills, one dig and a block against the Utes.

Willis accumulated five kills in 21 attacks, two digs and two blocks, while Novotny tallied one ace and two digs.

Pioneer Performers:
Graceyn Tippens and Tina Boe each tallied seven of Denver's 44 total kills. Boe led the team with a .429 hitting percentage against Utah.

Ellie Anderson tallied 24 assists, upping her season total to 708, first on the team. 

Macy Carrabine totaled 12 of Denver's 42 digs, followed by Anderson (8) and Bartalo (8).

Let's Talk Numbers:
The Pioneers totaled 44 kills in 133 total attempts, 42 assists, two aces, 42 digs, six blocks and a .211 hitting percentage. Utah overtook Du in three sets with 51 kills in 113 attempts, 44 assists, two aces, 57 digs, five blocks and a .310 hitting percentage.

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram
JOIN THE CONVERSATION: #ReachTheSummit | #SummitVB


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.