Three represent league with AVCA all-region honors

South Dakota's Taylor Wilson is one of three Summit League volleyball players that received AVCA all-region honors.
South Dakota's Taylor Wilson is one of three Summit League volleyball players that received AVCA all-region honors.


By: Aubrie Laufenberg
LEXINGTON, Ky. –Three Summit League student-athletes earned AVCA All-Midwest Region honors announced by organization officials Tuesday. South Dakota's Taylor Wilson was named to the AVCA All-Midwest Region while teammate Hayley Dotseth and Denver's Becca Latham earned honorable mention honors.

Representing the Summit League Tournament Champion Coyotes were seniors Taylor Wilson and Hayley Dotseth. Wilson, the 2018 Summit League tournament MVP, landed on the All-Midwest Region team after leading the league, and USD, with a .377 hitting percentage, third best single-season mark in the program history and eighth best in Summit League history.

Dotseth, the 2018 Summit League Player of the Year, secured a spot on the All-Midwest Region honorable mention team after leading the league in kills per set (4.03), while ranking second in total kills (447). She became just the fifth athlete in school history to record 1,000 kills and 1,000 digs in a career and posted 21 double-doubles (kills-digs) on the season.

Becca Latham helped guide the Pioneers to a historic 2018 season going undefeated in league play and posting a 27-3 overall record. She led DU in total kills  (358) and ranked third in total blocks (64). Latham joined the 1,000 kills club during the championship match against South Dakota and ended her career with 1,031 total kills.

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram
JOIN THE CONVERSATION: #ReachTheSummit | #SummitVB


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.