Fort Wayne’s Rafuse Tabbed #SummitXC Women’s AOW

Fort Wayne’s Rafuse Tabbed #SummitXC Women’s AOW

ELMHURST, Ill. – Fort Wayne's Emma Rafuse collected Summit League Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Week honors for the third time this season following her performance during the Sept. 22-23 weekend.

Jr.  // Greenville, Wis.

  • Collected her third career Athlete of the Week honor, all coming this season
  • Placed 19th out of 188 finishers at the Roy Griak Invitational
  • Recorded a time of 22:10.6, best among Summit League competitors at the meet that included four nationally-ranked teams and two others receiving votes
  • Became the first athlete since 2013 to claim three weekly women's cross country honors in the first four weeks of the season

Also nominated: Kelby Anderson, North Dakota State; Emily Johnson, Omaha; Megan Billington, South Dakota; Rachel King, South Dakota State

Previous recipients: Sept. 5 – Emma Rafuse, Fort Wayne; Sept. 12 – Emma Rafuse, Fort Wayne; Sept. 19 – Megan Billington, South Dakota

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.