Cross Country Championships Set For Saturday

Cross Country Championships Set For Saturday

Spectator Information/Course Map
SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – The 2019 Summit League Cross Country Championships presented by U.S. Air Force Special Warfare will be hosted Saturday at Rose Creek Golf Course in Fargo, N.D. All seven men's teams and all eight women's teams will compete in the opening two of the league's 19 championships during the 2019-20 academic year.

The men's race is scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. CT with the women's race to follow at noon. Awards for both championships will follow the second race.

Need to Know
Date: Saturday, Nov. 2
Times: 1 p.m. CT (Men's), 2 p.m. CT (Women's)
Location: Rose Creek Golf Course
Host: North Dakota State
Live Stream: Here
Live Results: Here
PDF Results: Here
Photo Galery: Here

Where to Look
For anything and everything regarding The Summit League Cross Country Championships, visit the official championship website here.

Follow The Summit League
Don't miss a thing. To keep updated, follow The Summit League on all its social media sites. Head over here for a live video of the men's finish around 11:30 a.m. CT and for the women's finish around 12:15 p.m. CT.

Twitter: @thesummitleague
Instagram: @thesummitleague
Facebook: The Summit League

Men's Front Runners

  • South Dakota State looks to earn its fourth-consecutive Summit League Championship title
  • The Jackrabbits come into the championship ranked No. 9 in the USTFCCCA Midwest Regional rankings
  • SDSU men have finished first or second in nine out of the last 10 league championships
  • South Dakota State's Joseph Minor-Williams holds the league's fastest 8K time of the season (24:32.8), while the Jackrabbits' Micah Mather holds the fastest 6K time (18:18.1)
  • Minor-Williams, who is the reigning Summit League Newcomer of the Championship, was named the Cross Country Male Athlete of the Week twice this season
  • Other weekly award honorees include Mather, Oral Roberts junior Emmanuel Kipngetich, North Dakota State junior Tim Heikkila and South Dakota' Merga Gemeda

Last Five Men's Champions
2018: South Dakota State
2017: South Dakota State
2016: South Dakota State
2015: IUPUI
2014: IUPUI

2018: Eldon Warner, South Dakota
2017: Chase Cayo, South Dakota State
2016: Robert Murphy, IUPUI
2015: Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State
2014: Tom Ohlman, IUPUI

Women's Front Runners

  • South Dakota is favored to claim its sixth-consecutive championship and will look to become the first team to win six-straight Summit League titles since Southern Utah won seven-straight from 1998-2004
  • USD's streak of five-straight titles ranks sixth among active conference title streaks
  • The Coyotes enter the league meet ranked No. 12 in the USTFCCCA Midwest Rankings
  • South Dakota junior Abby Ripperda has won two races this season, one in the 5K and one in the 6K, and has finished in second-place in two others races
  • North Dakota State junior Kelby Anderson broke the Bison's 35-year-old record in the 5K time with a second-place time of 16:48.0 at the UND Ron Pynn Classic
  • Ripperda owns the league's fastest times this season in both the 5K (16:45.5) and the 6K (20:49.9) as her 5K time is the second-fastest mark in league history
  • Ripperda and Anderson have both claimed the Cross Country Female Athlete of the Week award four times this season

Last Five Women's Champions
2018: South Dakota
2017: South Dakota
2016: South Dakota
2015: South Dakota
2014: South Dakota

2018: Emma Rafuse, Purdue Fort Wayne
2017: Rachel King, South Dakota State
2016: Emily Donnay, South Dakota State
2015: Erin Teschuk, North Dakota State
2014: Erin Teschuk, North Dakota State

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram
JOIN THE CONVERSATION: #ReachTheSummit | #SummitXC