SDSU Men, NDSU Women Crowned Cross Country Summit League Champions

South Dakota State men earned their fourth-straight #SummitXC title, while North Dakota State claimed their first crown since 2013.
South Dakota State men earned their fourth-straight #SummitXC title, while North Dakota State claimed their first crown since 2013.

Women's Results | Men's Results 

Men's Championship MVP Interview | Men's Newcomer of the Championship Interview | Women's Championships MVP Interview | Women's Newcomer of the Championship Interview

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. –South Dakota State men, ranked No. 9 in the Midwest Region, and North Dakota State women captured The Summit League Cross Country Championships, presented by U.S. Air Force Special Warefare, Saturday at Rose Creek Golf Course in Fargo, N.D.

The women totaled 45 points for their first Summit League crown since 2013, ahead of South Dakota's 48 points. South Dakota State (73), North Dakota (84) and Omaha (127) round out the top five of the standings.

The Jackrabbit men earned their fourth-straight championship title and tied a league record for the lowest team score with 15 points. It was the first time since 2006 that a team accumulated a perfect score. North Dakota State's 64 points secured second place as South Dakota (74) placed third overall. North Dakota (120) claimed fourth place as Purdue Fort Wayne (142), Oral Roberts (176) and Western Illinois (177) rounded out the results.

Top Performers

North Dakota State's Kelby Anderson ran away with the title with a personal-best 6K time of 20:35.1. Anna Donnay of South Dakota State (21:02.3) and Emily Johnson of Omaha (21:19.2) finished second and third, respectively. USD's Abby Ripperda (21:24.7) and Jonna Bart (21:29.2) rounded out the top five.

South Dakota State's Joseph Minor-Williams, who earned second-team honors and was named the Newcomer of the Year a year ago, claimed the title with an 8K time of 24:43.6. The remaining top-five finishers all went to the Jackrabbits, as Micah Mather (24:46.5), Lukas Nelson (24:51.5) and Chase Cayo (24:57.1) earned their second-straight first-team honors placing second through fourth, respectively. Tom Breuckman, who earned first-team honors last season, received second-team honors with a fifth-place finish (25:02.3), while Gabe Peters earned his second-straight first-team league accolade by placing sixth with a time of 25:07.6.

Anderson and Minor-Williams captured the Women's and Men's Championship MVP honors with their victories. NDSU's Kaleesa Houston, who finished 12th (21:53.4), claimed the Women's Newcomer of the Championship. South Dakota's Clayton Whitehead was the Men's Newcomer of the Championship after his 10th-place finish with a time of 25:13.5.


The Summit League Honors

Women's All-League Teams:

First Team

Kelby Anderson – North Dakota State

Anna Donnay – South Dakota State

Emily Johnson – Omaha

Abby Ripperda - South Dakota

Jonna Bart – South Dakota

Madison Overby – North Dakota

Hannah Oscarson – South Dakota

Second Team

Brynnan Covington – North Dakota State

Jen Dufner – North Dakota State

Kianna Stewart – South Dakota

Kelsi Kearney – South Dakota

Kaleesa Houston – North Dakota State

Ellie Friesen – South Dakota State

Erica Eades – North Dakota

Championship MVP

Kelby Anderson – North Dakota State

Newcomer of the Championship

Kaleesa Houston – North Dakota State


Men's All-League Teams:

First Team

Joseph Minor-Williams – South Dakota State

Micah Mather – South Dakota State

Lukas Nelson – South Dakota State

Chase Cayo – South Dakota State

Tom Breuckman – South Dakota State

Gabe Peters – South Dakota State

Alex Bartholomay – North Dakota State

Second Team

Merga Gemeda – South Dakota

Tim Heikkila – North Dakota State

Clayton Whitehead – South Dakota

Andrew Rush – South Dakota State

Emmanuel Kipngetich – Oral Roberts

Isaac Huber – North Dakota State

Luke Labatte – North Dakota

Championship MVP

Joseph Minor-Williams – South Dakota State

Newcomer of the Championship

Clayton Whitehead – South Dakota

Final Standings



1st place – North Dakota State (45)

1st place – South Dakota State (15)

2nd place – South Dakota (48)

2nd place – North Dakota State (64)

3rd place – South Dakota State (73)

3rd place – South Dakota (74)

4th place – North Dakota (84)

4th place – North Dakota (120)

5th place – Omaha (127)

5th place – Purdue Fort Wayne (142)

6th place – Western Illinois (176)

6th place – Oral Roberts (176)

7th place – Purdue Fort Wayne (206)

7th place – Western Illinois (177)

8th place – Oral Roberts (222)




  • South Dakota State men's score of 15 was the first time a men's or women's time recorded a perfect score since Southern Utah did so in 2006 and was the first time in league history the top-six runners came from one program.
  • Anderson's finished 33 seconds ahead of Donnay's 21:02.3 mark, and that was the largest margin of victory since 2003 when Oakland's Kristie Kiefer (21:25.22) beat Southern Utah's Alisha Bezanson (21:55.15) by 30 seconds as part of the Mid-Con.


Up Next

All eight of the league teams head to the NCAA Regionals on Friday, Nov. 15. Purdue Fort Wayne will travel to Madison, Wis., to compete in the NCAA Great Lakes Regional, while North Dakota, North Dakota State, Omaha, Oral Roberts, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois head to Stillwater, Okla., for the NCAA Midwest Regional.

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram
JOIN THE CONVERSATION: #ReachTheSummit | #SummitXC